The “Make Room for the Bump” Shirts

P1080955 copy
Fabric: Green spots cotton from stash
Pattern: None
Notions: None
Time to complete: Less than 2 hours
First worn: To work this week
Wear again? Yup
Total price: ~$0

This is my tired face because it’s 8am and I’m slowly getting over a cold.

Both of these shirts use the same square-sewing technique as the spotty top I made for Sew Weekly. I realized it accommodated the growing preggy belly so I whipped these up since I’m running out of wearable clothes.

P1080961 copy
Fabric: Black polka-dot cotton from stash
Pattern: None
Notions: None
Time to complete: Less than 2 hours
First worn: To work this week
Wear again? Yesss
Total price: ~$0

This version is a few inches wider than the first. And looking through the quick photos I took it’s funny how it makes the belly look huge.
P1080959 copy
I wore it with the belt for a hot minute before it started bothering my ribs. I need stretchier belts if I’m going to rock this look. I’m happy to have more work options at any rate.
P1080962 copy
Additionally, I expanded the waistband of the trousers I’m wearing with the second top using this technique from Say Yes.
20150128_173445 copy
It was a little fiddly getting the waistband separated and I had to tear through the interfacing – which was fine, I just hadn’t thought about it being an issue before I started deconstructing. You can see some of the left over interfacing glue on the left. These trousers are so old I had no qualms about trying this if it didn’t go well. Which it did, and expands my winter work wardrobe.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to The “Make Room for the Bump” Shirts

  1. Congratulations :-)

    I love reading about sewing for bumps, not that I ever did it for mine, I didn’t start sewing till the kids were older, but I truly enjoy seeing other people do it. Anyway, you could set some elastic under the bust if you wanted to avoid the belt issue. My belly was sensitive with both kids and did not want to be restricted with belts or anything like it :-)

Leave a Reply

