In Search of the Right Pattern

I wanted to try a “Mr. Right” joke with that title, but it wasn’t working for me.

So I was a little naughty and bought some chambray at Sew to Speak when I was there late August. It was cute, and not as expensive as I expected it to be so it found its way into my hands. It just screams “shirtdress” to me. Not the ’50s full-skirted type, but the slim, modern type (with full- or 3/4-length sleeves).
20130824_213150 copy
ETA: Forgot to include a picture of the fabric! Also, I purchased Rae’s Washi pattern at the same time.
Anyone have a pattern recommendation for me? Extra points if it’s an indie pattern company and/or if it’s available for PDF download cuz then I could make it immediately.

Here are ones I’m considering:
Lisette’s Traveler Dress (Simplicity 2246)
S2246

Burda Magazine’s (I’ve never used their patterns. Should I be nervous??)
BM116
BM111

There are also some vintage ones available…
S6079
S5569
Are there more shirtdress patterns out there?

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

7 Responses to In Search of the Right Pattern

  1. Maryall says:

    The Colette Patterns Hawthorn dress is also a lovely pattern, or the Deer-and-Doe Bleuet dress which I’ve been watching for a while now. Among those you’ve posted, I like both the Lisette dress and the vintage one, I wouldn’t know which one to choose :)

    • Sully Liz says:

      Thanks for pointing me to the Deer-and-Doe pattern. It’s not quite right, but maybe.
      I’m not a huge fan of the Hawthorn pattern, actually. It has a waist seam, if I recall correctly, which is not what I’m picturing for this fabric.

  2. Joanne says:

    The Lisette one is great AND pretty easy; it has a camp collar vs. one with a collar band, which was my only issue with it. I also remember wishing I had lengthened it a bit. That bottom button is kind of high up, if you know what I mean.
    Burda patterns generally fit me really well without a whole lot of excess ease. You do have to add seam allowances, though.
    Those vintage ones are super cute, though!

  3. I have had this one pinned for a while, it isn’t my favorite but it is free.

  4. Zeddie says:

    Vogue 8903 doesn’t have a waist seam. It is identical to Vogue 8028 which is an older pattern. Simplicity 4171 is a vintage looking modern shirtdress. McCalls 5847, Butterick 5315, Simplicity 2403, and Simplicity 1880 all have a classic shirtdress style but all of them have a waist seam.

Leave a Reply

