Random Sewing: The “Just Another Jersey” Dress

P1080728 copy sized
SnS 1505Fabric: Grey and black-dot jersey $12 from Mood
Pattern: Modified Stretch & Sew 1505
Year: 1979
Notions: 2 scraps of bias tape to reinforce the shoulder seems
Time to complete: Probably 6-7 hours or so.
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? Ummmmm…we’ll see.
Total price: $12
Get used to these wooded backgrounds, you’ll see a lot of them from now on!

I can’t remember when I bought this fabric at Mood NYC. It could have been last year. Anyway all I remember is that I was sort of in a rush, and not “feeling” anything. I was going to walk away empty handed when I saw this behind one of the cutting counters. I asked for a yard and a half and was on my way.
P1080717 copy
I have enough left over for a top I think. I like Cation’s Dolman top style. I may have to get that pattern.
P1080722 copy
Anyway, it’s pretty basic. The neckline is not my best, that’s why I haven’t really worn it, and it’s taken me so long to blog about it. I finished this before we moved…two weeks ago!

So I like it. I guess. It looks ok in these photos, but it doesn’t feel quite right.
P1080711 copy
We’ve been kept very busy cleaning the new house (the wood floors were redone so there’s dust EVERYWHERE) and packing/unpacking. We’ve also had issues with leaking from the full bath. And a bunch of hornets trying to build a nest in the eave of our back window. It’s been a bit of a nightmare. I’m feeling very down about it. Husband has suggested that we watch The Money Pit because he’s never seen it. I have, so it will just make me cry because I KNOW all those things will happen to us!!! Anyway. Home ownership, amirite?!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

