Random Sewing: The “Retro Schmetro” Dress

P1080705 copy
2211ExtraLargeFabric: Joel Dewbweey aqua herringbone cotton $10 and Robert Kaufman’s Retro Circles in grey $11
Pattern: Simplicity 2211 (minus collar, placket and sleeve ruffles)
Year: 2011
Notions: aqua bias tape for the sleeves and hem from stash
Time to complete: 8 hours I’d wager
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? Dunno. Iffy on the length
Total price: $22
(ETA: This photoshoot resulted in 90% awkward faces. I don’t know why.)

If I hadn’t hand-stitched the hems and neck facing this would have been a really quick make. But I do like not being stuck in my sewing room all the time. I can take my hand sewing anywhere!
P1080700 copy
So overall I’m not 100% on this dress. It does look the best with the belt. I had a vision for this and it wasn’t quite realized. I didn’t really have enough Retro Circles fabric for the bottom so it’s a tiny bit more snug than I’d like. And also short maybe.
P1080706 copy
Husband saw it and went, “That’s a lot of print!” But I thought a solid grey bottom would be too plain. Or something. Hmmmm…It does look more 60s retro than my London dress. I’ll keep thinking about it.
P1080691 copy
This was my “mod” pose. I don’t remember why I thought it was “mod”. I took these last week, the same time as the Jessica Fletcher dress. It was hot and humid. Husband said he did like this one better…because the skirt is so short. Cheeky.
P1080695 copy
I don’t remember what I was doing here! Blergh. Well, at least I’ve been happy to get so many projects done. Packing and moving house is in full swing. Hope I have time to do the Sew Weekly Reunion challenge!!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

