2013 Sewing Plan: The “Finally Done!” Dress

P1080642 copy
2013 Sewing Plan: Project 3
S5698Fabric:
Blue dotted cotton lawn by Lisette for Jo-Ann’s ~$10
Pattern: Simplicity 5698
Year: Ca. 1960s
Notions: Zip $1
Time to complete: It’s been so long, maybe 8 hours?
First worn: For quick pictures
Wear again? Sure
Total price: ~$11

It’s done! Yay! I received this pattern from our Sew Weekly swap last year. It was one size too small so I did a tiny bit of grading to make sure it would fit me. I probably could have gone tighter in the bust and shoulders.
P1080647 copy
So I basically had this all done back in March (part of my 30 before I turned 30). But I had major issues with the zip getting caught on the fabric. It was the second zip to do this to me in recent months so I was particularly disgusted.
P1080654 copy
I set it aside until I had the time to unpick and restitch. I did a lapped zip insertion instead of equal flaps – is there a word for that? Anyway, it seems to have solved the issue. So I finally tacked down the facings and hemmed.
P1080659 copy
We’re getting REALLY close to moving into our new house. We haven’t packed a single thing in our townhouse yet because I want to keep having some normalcy. I’m worried my sewing area will be a disaster for a few weeks. Might be a good time to get my machine checked-up and cleaned, so I may not have new creations for a little while.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to 2013 Sewing Plan: The “Finally Done!” Dress

  1. Loran says:

    How exciting!! Can’t wait to see the new house and I don’t blame you about not wanting to live out of boxes. This dres is very cute, especially with the Liz-green belt : )

  2. A centred zip? I had to go and look it up! I never do those, I much prefer a lapped or invisible zip. Hope your house move goes well.

    • Sully Liz says:

      Now that you say that I realize it must be right. I’ve done several over the last few years and only two have caused me trouble catching on the fabric. I too prefer invisible over any other method – gives the garment more of a polished look imho.

  3. joellestlaurent says:

    So exciting with the move, good luck! The dress is super cute, I’m sure you’ll wear it lots! And it’s called a centered zipper, quite simply :) but I’m very fond of lapped zippers, and I almost always choose to do a lapped insertion. They feel more… Classy? Anyways, well done despite the troubles!

Leave a Reply

