Oh Crap, It’s June!

Not that I think this year is going by particularly fast, but I guess I’ve still been convinced it’s May for the past two weeks. June is significant because back in January I joined the Stash Busting Challenge. Here’s a reminder of my commitment…

I, Elizabeth (aka Sully Liz or The Cataloguer), commit to using up at least half of my stash fabric in 2013 (approx 8 fabrics). I also commit to not buying any new fabric except to fill out a garment which is using up a stash fabric, until June 2013.

While I will still be bustin’ for the rest of 2013, I was going to let myself off the hook for fabric buying in June. So…err…was I a good girl the past few months? Uhh…no. Decidedly not.

I did a LOT of traveling between January 1st and May 31st. Of those 150 days I spent 35 of them in other cities/states/countries. THAT’S MORE THAN A FULL MONTH! And who knew when I’d be back to some of those places?! I couldn’t let their fabric shops go unexplored!! …or so I rationalized to myself.

Thankfully (for my sanity!!), it doesn’t look like I will have to do as much traveling for the rest of the year. Therefore I will recommit myself to not buying any more fabric – except to finish started garments, or home decor neccessities, if there’s absolutely none in my stash – for the rest of the year.

On that note, here’s some recent things I purchased and ideas for them…
P1080634 copy
Coral striped double knit from Michael Levine Loft, will become a blazer.
P1080631 copy
Green, navy (and black not shown) gaberdines from Fashion Fabrics Club (ok, yes I was terrible at keeping the pledge!), will become a skirt, dress and jacket respectively.
P1080635 copy
Coral and teal stretch cotton sateens from Mood NYC, will become capris probably.
P1080636 copy
(Ok, not fabric but…) Fold-over elastic in green and grey from Mood NYC, currently have no set use for these but omg they are gorgeous!
P1080632 copy
Black and white dot jersey knit and rose print cotton from Jackman’s Fabrics near St. Louis, will become a dress or shirt and blazer lining respectively.
P1080639 copy
London print cottons from Handcocks of Paducah (again, yes, I’m a terrible, no good, lying liar!), will become curtains for my sewing room.

Soooo…yeah…I should have plenty to work with as soon as I get my mojo back.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Oh Crap, It’s June!

  1. I was terrible too and I didn’t even go anywhere. I do feel a little better though after going through my stash and sorting through the fabric and giving away the pieces that I didn’t like anymore or that where not really big enough for anything.

    It’ll be wonderful to see some of the fabrics made up.

Leave a Reply

