Random Sewing: The “Florals?! I Don’t Even Know Me Anymore!” Dress

P1080623 copy
Fabric: Floral cotton print £6 and skirt lining from stash
Pattern: Simplicity 2209
Year: 2011
Notions: Invisible zip $1
Time to complete: About 12 hours or so
First worn: To a wedding and again to work this week
Wear again? Already have!
Total price: ~$12 after conversion?

Thank you to those who weighed in on my fashion dilemma in my last post. Obviously I did finish this dress.
P1080621 copy
Despite the lack of pictures, I did wear it to the wedding. However, I had a bad head cold (still getting over it) so I wasn’t feeling the prettiest. Also, the wedding was cut short when there was a serious threat of tornadoes!! Thankfully they got through the outdoor ceremony and dinner before they had to call it. It didn’t start raining (and hailing) until we were all safely back to the hotel. Most of my family ended up hanging out in the hotel lobby for a few hours.
P1080626 copy
I wore it without tights to the wedding, but I thought the yellow looked nice for work.
P1080629 copy
So anyway, I didn’t make any alterations to the pattern except that I did fully line the skirt. I thought it would make it glide better over tights, and also weigh the skirt down so it wouldn’t blow up in the wind.
P1080630 copy
I don’t have more to say about this cuz my head is still fuzzy and my sewing mojo is low. So there’s me making a face.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Random Sewing: The “Florals?! I Don’t Even Know Me Anymore!” Dress

  1. Sarah Day says:

    Hi Liz. it seems (seams!) ages since I have looked at your sewing. I love the dress and the coloured tights. I love coloured tights but I am supposedly too old to wear them. I also have an ulterior motive for contacting you again. You helped me a lot when I was trying to get onto sew weekly, but nothing came of it. I am on a forum for Wildginger software and we seem to be lacking motivation/inspiration at the moment. I wanted to put up some of the SW challenges. I e-mailed Mena but no answer yet. Do they have some kind of copyright attached to them? I would have sent this by email, but your address has disappeared from my list.

    • Sully Liz says:

      Hi Sarah, good to hear from you again! I’m afraid I don’t have any updates on the status of Sew Weekly. All of the posts’ copyright is held by the original writer, and all of Mena’s content belongs to her. So while the list may be copyrighted you could still derive inspiration from them – taking a general theme (films, specific color, era-specific, etc.) The concept of themed challenges isn’t copyrighted, so I don’t think there’s an issue with coming up with your own, as long as you aren’t calling it “Sew Weekly”.

      Hope that helped! Good luck!!

Leave a Reply

