Fashion Advice Needed

Have to go to a family wedding at the end of the month. It’s in the evening but I believe mostly outdoors. So question, is a dress like this appropriate for the occasion?
modcloth
If I’m wearing heels and other dressed-up stuff?

I happen to be making another Simplicity 2209 and I’m using the fabric I bought in London. Which is not dissimilar…
P1080537 copy
What do you think? Too casual? I could always make something else but I’ve already started the 2209. I think it’s probably fine but I just need reassurance.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

10 Responses to Fashion Advice Needed

  1. Joelle says:

    I would say yes, it is toally appropriate, even with dressy sandals. I had an outdoor wedding, and I would say that pretty much everything goes, except maybe jeans.

    • Sully Liz says:

      Thanks! I think only the ceremony is outdoors so I’ll stick to dressy wedges probably. My wedding was also outdoors but around lunch time so it was ok to be more casual. It’s hard to know sometimes so I appreciate the reassurance!

  2. sewinsteady says:

    Yes, that’d be perfect for a wedding like that! The dark background on the floral fabric makes it easy to transition into a fancier look than if it were a light color. Can’t wait to see the finished dress!

  3. BeingZhenya says:

    Definitely appropriate! There are so many people these days who wear god knows what to weddings that you’ll definitely look stunning!
    Xo,
    Z
    http://beingzhenya.com

  4. I think it’ll be fabulous. It’s not you that is getting married is it? I mean I wouldn’t judge, I got married in blue, but you know … :-)

  5. Yes, I think it would be lovely!

  6. There used to be a whole time-thing that determined the fanciness of the wedding but unless they’re going full white tie I think this is very pretty : )

  7. liese2012 says:

    Heck yes! I think it’s totally appropriate. And if you do feel underdressed, just project super fancy poise and grace and you’ll be fine.

Leave a Reply

