London Adventures

I’m home! And a little jet-lagged. It’s 6am. I should be asleep. ANYWAY! I have things to share!

So after doing a bunch of touristy things – including the Harry Potter Studio Tour (which is the best thing ever!) – I got to go off on my own on Wednesday to do some fabric shopping while Husband did more sightseeing. I went to Goldhawk Rd and Liberty of London (and also the V&A shop in hopes of finding their fabric but alas that did not come to pass.)

On Goldhawk Rd I came away with two fabrics though. Slightly less than 2 meters of the floral (last on the bolt) and 1 meter of what I can only describe as “Hail Britannia” print.
P1080536 copy
Here’s some close-ups of the prints: floral and Britannia

At the V&A I was hoping they’d have their fabric yardage available. Sadly they did not. But they did have a stash of these beautiful zippers. And while I knew you could get these scissors elsewhere I wanted to get them from the V&A just because.
P1080541 copy
At Liberty I decided against getting any fabric in the end. It was amazing to get to see it all in person but I knew I could get it slightly cheaper online. I did walk away with the ribbon above (the only print they had on ribbon) and the Great British Sewing Bee Companion Book – also something I could have gotten slightly cheaper online but wanted it from a UK shop as a memento from the trip.
P1080542 copy
Look! There’s Tilly! It was great to get to see the show “live” on Tuesday. Hopefully I’ll get to see the final two episodes as well.
P1080545 copy

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to London Adventures

  1. carlalissa says:

    Looks that you behave on fabric shopping!!! good for you…. love those zippers!!! I am glad you are back home safe and sound….rest cause its back to reality!!!

    • Sully Liz says:

      I did behave! I was looking for a specific thing – that I didn’t find – so that always throws me off my game. I wanted way more of the floral print, so the shop keeper kept showing me others that weren’t like it at all and I was just getting overwhelmed. The Britannia print was a last minute find that was so odd I had to have it.

Leave a Reply

