Maps and Stats

By now you’ve probably seen Vicki’s map of sewists around the globe. (If not, you need to go add yourself post haste!)
map
Now that it’s filled out a bit more, I’m noticing some interesting things. Of course there are a lot of sewists in North America, and the UK because we all have the English language (and large populations) in common. But it’s nice to see which states/provinces everyone is in. I’m hoping more in the Oceania area add themselves – because I know there are more of you. And I’m not really surprised at the number across Europe.

But I am curious about the few dots in East and South Eastern Asia. My WordPress stats tell me that occasionally I get hits from these areas (and others). But I don’t know who they are, or how long they stay. I used to figure they were all bots, but maybe not?!
map2
Are you a reader and sewer from overseas? Let thy selves be known!!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Maps and Stats

  1. lakaribane says:

    Perso, I not-so-secretly hope more people from Central and South America sign up. Just found another [from and living in the] Caribbean blogger just last night via Burdastyle.com’s newsletter and I was thrilled! I would agree that being able to use English might be a problem…

    • Sully Liz says:

      Yeah, English language has to be the biggest factor in who adds themselves, or even follows the same group of bloggers. I follow one French blog because I learned the language in school, and mostly I can get by just looking at the pictures. But trying to follow any other language blogs would be really difficult. Even in the age of Google Translate it would be difficult to really feel part of the community.

  2. Vicki says:

    There are a few Asian pins that people added to point out good fabric shopping, but I imagine there are probably Asian readers that are shy about commenting in english. I am hoping that the map may bring other language speakers in contact.

  3. I actually found your blog via this map! And how cool that you’re a fellow wordpress blogger? ;)
    ~Jen

Leave a Reply

