Random Sewing: The “A Real Green” Dress (That’s Cruel)

How has it taken me this long to make that joke?
P1070221
SnS 1505Fabric: Green knit from Joann’s $10 maybe?
Pattern: Stretch & Sew 1505
Year: 1979
Notions: Nothing but thread
Time to complete: 10-12 hours maybe?
First worn: To work on Monday
Wear again? Why, yes!
Total price: $10

So this was not on my 2013 sewing plan, but it was part of my 2012 sewing plan, and I did use a stash fabric! So, win! Except that I still have about 3/4 of a yard left of this fabric. D’oh! It will probably become a tank-top for summer.
P1070231
Apparently I forgot what this pattern looked like so this isn’t exactly what I was hoping for. I forgot it was supposed to be blousey. I’m afraid it looks like a nightgown without a belt. Oy vey!
P1070247
I had attempted to make the skirt fuller, but it just all pooled at my hips very oddly. So I trimmed it back down. Hopefully I’ll get it right when I go to make the teal and grey polka-dot versions I planned for my stash.
P1070212
It was only 21 degrees F Monday morning so I wore a cardigan, scarf, and polka-dot tights. I really can’t wait for it to be just a little bit warmer. Mainly so I can wear skirts and dresses and not freeze, but also because we closed on our new house last week and there’s lots of work to be done that need to wait until it’s warmer outside.
P1070249
My head is full of house stuff. It’s very hard to focus on anything for more than a few minutes. Husband and I will be watching TV or doing other things and then one of us will randomly go, “I think the couch needs to go on the left, not in the middle.” and the other will immediately know what was meant and agree or whatever. Secret language of marrieds. We’re bordering on insufferable.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

8 Responses to Random Sewing: The “A Real Green” Dress (That’s Cruel)

  1. anothersewingscientist says:

    You say it looks like a nightgown without the belt, but I say I need one just like it! I have two knit dresses that are in permanent weekend rotation, to the point that if I don’t do the laundry in time, I end up on Saturday morning with “nothing to wear”. I have a pattern from 1981 that is quite similar, so I should just stop typing now and get sewing, shouldn’t I?
    ps. Thanks for pinning yourself on the Map the Sewintist project!

  2. christina says:

    This is by far my absolute FAVORITE shade of green. It looks great on you, love this pattern. Would be really fun without sleeves as a sundress!

  3. joelle says:

    i was exactly the same about my new appartment when we just bought it 6 months ago… still am, in some ways. :)

  4. The colour looks fantastic on you….and great styled with the scarf, cardy and polka dot tights (even if you know it looks nightgownish, you wear it well).

  5. adelafg says:

    Hola es muy bonito,tengo un corte del mismo color y no sabia que hacerme gracias

Leave a Reply

