Sew Grateful For You Giveaway!

I can’t think of a better way to thank my readers, followers, and supporters than to have a little giveaway! I’ve been thinking about doing one for a while and now I have a great excuse with Debi’s Sew Grateful Week. I hope you’ll enter!

I’ll pick three winners who will receive one of the following prizes:
Prize 1: Fabric!
P1070200
See, I told you I had plans after breaking my no-fabric purchasing resolution! I kept enough of this blue dotted fabric to make up another of Gertie’s Bow-Tied blouses but the rest (1 1/4 yards at 59″ width) could be yours! I’m also including the same blue-grey corduroy that made up my “Two Favorites in One” skirt. There’s not a ton there, but about 21″ of the full width (40″) of the fabric, and about 19″ of the half width. So enough to make something.

Prize 2: Patterns!
P1070202
My collection is small, but I felt I could let go of these three patterns. Butterick 5556 (size 8-14 bust 31″-36″) was part of my 2013 Sewing Plan but after thinking about it, I just can’t see myself wearing this. So to a new home it goes!! I’m also including Stretch & Sew 1575 (bust sizes 28-40) which I made into the “Get it Together!” Dress, and Simplicity 7127 (size 14/bust 34) which I used on the, not the most successful, “Jet Setting” Outfit. Hopefully the winner will have more success – or continue to pass these along! Whatever you want to do is fine with me.
{Edit to Add} I should mention that all of these are complete, the Butterick and Stretch & Sew are uncut and the Simplicity is only one size so some of those pieces are cut, but they’re all usable.

Prize 3: Notions!
P1070203
See?! Another reward from my L.A. shopping! This prize includes 1 yard of the belting and one self-coverable belt buckle that I got at Michael Levine’s. Also included are two zips, a bunch of rick-rack, hem tape, and some needles. Some of these are from a huge vintage haul I got from ebay. Now they can be yours!

This is open to everyone worldwide! All you have to do to enter is leave a comment on this post telling me which prize you’d most like to receive! I’ll try to accommodate your preference but if I pull multiple people who want the same prize I’ll have to give it to the first pulled. Also, make sure I have a way to email you (through your profile, etc.)

Here are some suggestions for additions to your comments (please only enter once, these are just suggestions for adding more to your comment besides “I want prize 1” etc):
1. Tell me how you found out about my blog and when you started following me.
2. What is your favorite thing to sew?
3. What do you wish you had more time to do?
4. Any suggestions on how I can improve my posts?
5. Make something up. Whatevs!

You have until Sunday February 10th, 12pm EST to enter! I’ll announce the winners on Monday the 11th. Happy Sewing and thank you for reading!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

52 Responses to Sew Grateful For You Giveaway!

  1. Nessa says:

    Hi there – I can really empathise with your self description “I read, I sew, I eat, I watch TV and movies. That’s about it.” Sounds like a great life to me! I think we may be kindred spirits. Anyway… I’d love a chance to receive the notions goodies – I’ve read about hem binding but have never seen it in reality, and the self-covered belt buckle would be perfect!

  2. dottiedoodle says:

    I’d love to win the fabric. I found out about your blog today through the Sew Grateful link – look forward to catching up on what you’re been making!

  3. Mary says:

    I would like the fabric if I win.

  4. All of the prizes are great, so I would be happy with any of them if I were picked. I just found your blog (through the giveaway) but I am loving your style and am a new follower.

  5. Cherise says:

    Ooh ooh pick me pick me! :) My first choise would be prize 3. but 2. would be great too.

    I found your blog via Sew Grateful week at My Happy Sewing Place :)

  6. Rachel says:

    Thank you so much for the giveaway! I would love most the fabric (the dotted swiss for a blouse and something) or the awesome notions would be wonderful or the cool patterns ( really liked how your 7127 turned out)… My favorite thing to sew is the dress that I have cut out and is my very first clothing item ever… that is also what I wish I had more time to sew… clothes, eventually vintage I hope :-) I found you through sew grateful week! Your blog is wonderful… love, love the stats and all your honest likes and struggles with the patterns! How did you do the stats of time and money and number of patterns ect?

    • Sully Liz says:

      Hi Rachel, thanks for dropping by! When I was doing Sew Weekly I kept a thorough spreadsheet of all the facts I thought would be interesting (I am “The Cataloguer” after all!) I even kept track of some things that didn’t make it into the info-graphic, like the year of each pattern.

  7. Elizabeth says:

    Thanks for the giveaway. I would love the fabric if I win. My favorite thing to sew is clothing for myself and little sisters. I want to make myself some dresses this summer too!

  8. carlalissa says:

    Hello Liz I will like your fabric or your notions…whatever comes avail…. I have been following you for almost a year now, but just recently decided to comment…. Usually I will do it in sewweekly, but suddenly i was not allowed to comment there and then I realize (few months later) most of the sew weekly contributors had their own blog! so I started following them and just recently got the courage to comment (I kind of felt like a stalker LOL)

  9. Ybat says:

    Hello
    I would love to win the fabrics they look great. I first saw your blog on sewweekly and after a couple of your makes I decided to go exploring your blog to see what other things you have made. I really like your style so I started following you (but not in a creepy stalker way). My favorite thing to sew is bags because theres not fitting and clothes for my niece and nephew. Hope I win.

  10. Ashley says:

    All of the prizes are great! I would happy with any of them, but I’d especially love the patterns! My favorite thing to sew: dresses! You can never have too many!

  11. Donna says:

    The fabric is so pretty, and sewing for little girls, I can even use a half-yard for a skirt. I’m also a sucker for rick-rack and notions, so that would be my second choice. My favorite thing to sew is dresses for my little twins; sew much fun, sew little fabric! Thank you for the giveaway.

  12. Kerry says:

    I’d really like the notions please, love the look of that ric rac. I found your blog through Sew Grateful :)

  13. Hazel says:

    Such a lovely giveaway, all three prizes are awesome! I especially love the patterns. I’m a new follower, just found you today via Debi’s post with all out links, I love that tartan suit in your header and I’m about to go look through your posts! My email is hazel.berryman@hotmail.com

  14. I remember that I saw the green/white stripy skirt and thought that it was great and followed you. Did you perhaps show the skirt on sew weekly? I’d quite like the fabric despite my pledge to the stash bustin’ theme :-)

  15. Oh fun! I’d love the patterns most of all and the notions second. And please don’t give me the fabric since my stash is completely out of control and I really don’t need any enabling on that end!

  16. I would love to win the fabric – that dotty cotton is just lovely!
    I found your blog on Debi’s Sew Grateful post for other giveaways – I’m participating too so I thought I’d see what everyone else is doing!
    Beccie (beccieblossom@gmail.com)

  17. Mika says:

    What great prizes! I would love to have any of them. I just found your blog through Debi’s post, and I can’t wait to go look at your other posts.

  18. Ellen says:

    The notions would be awesome. Here in Australia, especially in Perth, vintage sewing things are so hard to find! Patterns generally stretch as far back as the 70s and I rarely see notions at all. I found your blog through the SewGrateful posts, and I would say the thing I love to sew most are the creative outfits- ones that you would never find RTW- like my catapillar dress and the Brad and Janet ensemble I’m working on at the moment.

  19. Andrea B says:

    Thank you thank you for the great giveaway! I would love the fabric. I just glanced through your blog and you make such cute stuff — don’t know why I’m just now finding you! I love to sew what I love to wear, so my favorite projects are always my knit dresses. I wear them to death.

  20. Mary M says:

    I’ve been following your blog for a little under a year now- through your sew weekly challenge. It’s been fun to see what you come up with every week. I’ve been so impressed with you guys who kept up with it the whole year!
    (Prize bundle 3- Notions)

  21. Maryall says:

    Hi, I’m a new follower, I found your blog through sew grateful, and I love your style! I would be very happy if I won either the patterns or the notions, but fabric would be great, too! Thank you for this opportunity!
    Oh, and I love to sew clothes for my daughter, she is so happy when I make her something! I wish I had more time to sew for her! ;)

  22. Hi Liz, I first started following your makes when we were both contributing to the Sew Weekly. I’ve been checking out your blog since then but this is the first time I’ve commented – I’ve always been a little bit in awe of all the wonderful things you make. I would love the fabric if I win, or if not the patterns, or the notions (greedy :) ). Thank you for this giveaway.

  23. I wish i had more time to sew and I love the fabric.

  24. soisewedthis says:

    Please count me in! New follower through bloglovin.com. I’d love the fabric because my stash is so tiny it fits on one shelf! and polka dots, yay! or the notions would be fun too, because who doesn’t love notions. even the word “notions” is fun =)

  25. Anne m says:

    I would love any prize, but number 1 (fabrics, fabrics, fabric) would be awesome! I just started sewing at Christmas, because my husband got me a sewing machine and I love it! I am making dresses, mostly, for my trip in the Caribbean in 10 days.I am looking forward sewing my little boy and grown up daughter a big part of their Sumner garde-robe!
    Thank you for your give away!

  26. hueisei says:

    Lovely giveaway! Thanks for the chance to win the notions and second is the fabrics. I love the polka dots. :D

  27. Kristin says:

    I love your giveaway! I think the Butterick pattern is my absolutely favorite out of everything, but I should probably want the notions because I never have any and always have to hunt them down last minute. My favorite thing to sew are dresses, usually vintage, but always comfortable!

  28. Kat says:

    Ohh, I love all of those things. My order of preference is probably 1. notions 2. fabric 3. patterns.

    I love the name of your blog. I’m a cataloguer too – *waves* hello! I do archives rather than museum things (though I wouldn’t mind if some came my way). Totally get the need to document! (I should get myself a blog…)

  29. Mina Holliday says:

    I love the patterns and the notions.
    I just added your blog to my RSS feed. I started teaching myself to sew a couple of months ago, and blogs like yours and all the other I read have been invaluable sources of information. So thank you so very much!

  30. Alice says:

    Hey. I found your blog today through sew grateful week today, very much looking forward to reading it in the future. My favourite thing to sew…fun new clothes, I love new clothes!! I’d love to win the fabric, I have a bit of a thing for the colour blue at the moment!! thanks for hosting this great giveaway x

  31. Teresa says:

    I’d probably go for the fabric but the notions are really a temptation! I love skirts so that’s probably what they’d become

  32. Kat H says:

    Oh, lovely giveaway! I just found you via Debi’s blog, and I’m now a follower. :-)

    All three prizes are fabulous, and I’d love to win any of them! If I had to choose, I’d pick the notions first, then the fabric, and the patterns last.

    I love sewing from vintage patterns, especially 1940’s and 1950’s styles. The styles from then are just so lovely and fun to wear. :-)

  33. sewexhausted says:

    I am a new blogger- and saw you today on Sew Grateful… And I am SEW Grateful for the sewing community I have discovered over the last few months. I feel like I am getting to know a bunch of new friends with the same interests as me! I would be happy with any of those giveaways! But I do love Vintage Patterns so that would be my first choice. :)

  34. Joleen Brown says:

    First off thankyou so much for the opportunity to win something so awesome!

    I would absolutely LOVE the patterns, I am currently learning to sew and have started collecting vintage patterns.

  35. JackieNj says:

    I would love the patterns prize, I wish had more time to sew actually. I only sew on weekends and its not enough.

  36. I found your blog via Sew Grateful. Love the skirt you’re wearing in your banner. I’d love the notions. What I wish I had more time to do??? after sewing…I would say visit places and friends all over…the weekend is always very short

  37. Debbie says:

    What a great giveaway, I think if I had to choose I would choose the fabric.
    I have only just found out about your blog through Debi’s Sew Grateful Sewing Week, so I look forward to going through you blog and getting inspired!
    I love sewing dresses and skirts, just wish I had more time to sew, my day job gets in the way!!!

  38. Megan says:

    I would love to win any of the prizes, but the fabric is my favorite ;) I found your blog through Sewin Steady’s crazy epic list of sewing blogs!

  39. Renee G says:

    Hi – my first choice would be the notions and the fabric would be a close second. I love seeing the combinations of fabric, patterns, and accessories that other make/combine. Love the inspiration your blog provides.
    rsgrandinetti@yahoo(DOT)com

  40. jqluo says:

    I would love the fabrics. I love the notions too :D

  41. Nikki says:

    Patterns first, then fabric! What a fab blog, I’ve found it just this week and it’s another one to add to the list! I just wish I had more time to sew with all the ideas I now see!

  42. Kessem says:

    I would love the patterns! they’re so cute!
    I wish I had more time to.. sew! Ha, I know this is redundant to say, but really, I only sew on weekends and I miss it during the week!

  43. Holly says:

    I love the fabrics! Hopefully I’ll acquire a sewing machine soon, and then I’m determined to master some techniques that I never quite grasped as a kid!

  44. Sue Klejeski says:

    Prize 3 would be the best addition to my collection, but I’m always up for more fabric. :) Thanks for hosting!

  45. Hey Liz. I have been following you since at least early September. Your Study in Grey outfit really caught my eye. I’m definitely an avid follower, and love how you measure time spent working by TV shows and movies. So you will hear no recommendations for improving your site from me. Please don’t change!
    Thank you for the generous giveaway. My favorite is the fabric.
    Take care,
    Shelley

  46. Karen says:

    I love prize number 2, I love to make dresses, but have only made one from scratch.

  47. Jill says:

    What fantastic prizes! After much debating and gnashing of teeth, I’ve decided my favorite is the patterns. Thanks so much for the giveaway!

  48. Emily M says:

    I’d love the notions (been dying to try a self-covered belt!), but the patterns are also really fun!

  49. Tara says:

    I’ve been reading your blog for about a month. It’s great. I’d love the fabric just for those polka dots.

  50. Sully Liz says:

    FYI entries are now closed. Thanks for entering!!

Leave a Reply

