Surprise! I’m in L.A.!

I’m once again on the move for work. This time I’m in Los Angeles for a few days (I leave for home on Sunday). And no trip to the West Coast would be complete without a visit to a few famous fabric shops…wait, that’s probably just my requirement. Other people probably want to go to the beach or some nonsense.
IMG-20130131-00443
First stop was B. Black & Sons. I probably wouldn’t have bothered if it hadn’t been for Gertie’s glowing recommendation. I had browsed their site a few months back and they are all about suit tailoring and fine cloths.
IMG-20130131-00444
I ended up purchasing a remnant (2 3/8 yards a remnant?!) fairly inexpensively. I had to FORCE myself not to purchase any bright green fabrics. I couldn’t tell what they were per yard and I forgot my swatches for color matching. C’est la vie.
IMG-20130131-00452
Next up was Michael Levine’s Loft where the legends are true! Everything is $2.50 per pound! I bought almost 3 lbs worth.
IMG-20130131-00446
Searching through the bins seems fruitless but there are some things on bolts that you can get cut (which is what I did).
IMG-20130131-00454
Then I walked across the street to Michael Levine proper to putz around.
IMG-20130131-00448
I bought a few yards of belting (which I can’t find anywhere in Michigan!), some self-coverable belt buckles, and one yard of London fabric because I had to round out my collection and actually do something with them! More on that to come.
IMG-20130131-00455
They also had gorgeous themed window displays.
IMG-20130131-00449
I plan on hitting Mood L.A. sometime on Saturday which is on the way to LACMA and the La Brea Tar Pits.

Now, you may be thinking, “Hey, didn’t you just take the Stashbusting challenge?!” Yes I did. But I have plans. PLANS I tell you!! Wait and see :D

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Surprise! I’m in L.A.!

  1. carlalissa says:

    Stashbusting challenge??? LOL of course you have to take advantage of the opportunity!!! Its like taking a kid to Disney world and not let him get on the rides!!!….. You are totally forgiven!!! Take advantage!!!

Leave a Reply

