Fabric Stash Show and Tell

Happy New Year! I’m back! Woohoo! I had the overwhelming desire to sew the past few days but couldn’t figure out what to do. Part of my problem was a limited fabric stash. Lucky for me I had reason to go to Haberman’s in Royal Oak today – to which I had a gift card from Christmas. So I picked up two things to help me out.
P1070149 copy
Teal cotton sateen (left) and a heavyweight teal knit (right). The knit actually looks much darker than the sateen in person and they both look a little greener in person as well.
b3100 c1985 P1070147b
I plan on pairing the sateen with this blue cotton with white dots that I got at B&J back in September to make Butterick 3100. The teal will be the skirt, the blue will be the top.
P1070155 copy
The bottom is that same teal knit as the top photo. The other green and the grey are knits I have in my stash. (The zip is there for color comparing.) I plan on making all three into dresses with full skirts and 3/4 length sleeves. These weren’t in my 2013 new pattern plan.
P1070151 copy
Here are the other fabrics in my stash that are worth noting. They are all at least 1 yrd but few are over that so my options are limited. I can usually squeeze a top OR a skirt out of 1 yrd but obviously not both, so dresses are out unless I’m mixing prints. Surprise, surprise the solid grey is 2 yrds but do I REALLY need ANOTHER grey dress?! No. So that will be something else. The cool toned (greys, blue, aqua, & periwinkle) may do something nice together.
P1070157b
Hmmm. What to do. What to do…I’ll keep thinking about it.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Fabric Stash Show and Tell

  1. Love that teal…both of them. And I spy lots of on trend greens (but then you are the Green Goddess!) Can’t wait to see what you make out of them.

Leave a Reply

