2013 Sewing Plan

So that’s it! I’m all out of Sew Weekly challenges for this year! What will I do now?!

Sew at a more reasonable pace, that’s what!! And only things that I truly want to make. But I do still want to motivate myself somehow, and I think this plan will help with that.

I have gathered a nice size collection of patterns over the past two years. Some of which I used during the past year, some of which I haven’t touched yet. I’d like to get to those untouched patterns and see what they’re like. I purchased them for a reason after all! So my goal for 2013 is to sew up each of these patterns at least once.

TO SEW 2013
Butterick 3100 ca. 1985
b3100 c1985
Came so close to using this one at the end, sadly didn’t have the time.

Butterick 5556 retro re-issue
B5556
I’m scared it’s a little too retro, but I liked the look of the bodice.

Gertie’s Book for Better Sewing
IMG-20120830-00173
I already made the Bow-tie Blouse, but I’d like to have a go at a few more in here. I’ll probably do the Scallop Waist Skirt, the Portrait Blouse, and probably the Pencil Skirt.

Papercut Patterns Watson Jacket
Papercut Watson
I just let myself indulge in this one. They had free shipping to promote the new line of patterns and I couldn’t resist gifting myself something nice.

Simplicity 1879
s1879
I think I felt compelled to complete my collection of Lisette patterns. I’m a little afraid of this one.

Simplicity 3661 ca. 1951
s3661 c1951
This actually made it to UFO stage before I chucked that project. I picked the wrong fabric, so I’ll try again because that tie could be super cute.

Simplicity 3673 retro re-issue
S3673
Another one I kept bringing out and putting away in favor of a different pattern I’d already used.

Simplicity 4070
S4070
Again, came really close a few times but never pulled the trigger.

Simplicity 5698 ca. 1960s
S5698
I’d have to practice my grading skills for this one – the pattern I have is one size too small.

Sewaholic Thurlow
Sewaholic Thurlow
This is one I’m eager to have a go at.

So that’s twelve if I go with three from Gertie’s book. Once a month? Sounds reasonable! There seem to be a lot of evening dress patterns. I will probably make them more wearable with a different fabric from what they show.

I’m not going to make a set order for completing these as I’d like the flexibility of moving them around if something strikes my fancy. But I’ll try to also include an “in progress” post before hand announcing which one I’m completing next.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2013 Sewing Plan

  1. sophie o. says:

    Great plans! I can see why you want to take your time next year, the Sew Weekly challenge must have been a tough one. On the other side of the screen, it was brilliant and very inspiring to read!

  2. Great game plan. I’d like to try something from Gertie’s book as well. The brocade dress is really tempting.
    Looking forward to seeing more of your beautiful work in 2013!

  3. Pingback: Take the 2013 Stash-busting Challenge and Sewalong! | The Cataloguer

Leave a Reply

