Sewing Projects 48: The “Two Favorites In One” Skirt

P1070021 crop
Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Favorite
m5591-envelopeThe Facts
Fabric: Blue-grey corduroy – I’ve had it for so long I can’t remember what I paid…maybe $8?
Pattern: McCall’s 5591 view A…again!
Year: 2007
Notions: 7″ zip $0.50
Time to complete: 5 hours
First worn: To see The Hobbit on Sunday
Wear again? And again, and again, and again
Total price: ~$8.50

So obviously I have used this skirt pattern before – three other times…so far. And I purchased this corduroy with the explicit intent to use it with this pattern. I used to own a RTW corduroy skirt in exactly this color back in my early to mid-20s. I loved it! It reminded me of school uniforms – which I never had to wear, so I can look at them with fondness and not contempt.
P1070001
But then I realized one day that I was no longer in my mid-20s and the skirt was too short to wear to work. So it had to go.
P1070012
But I had also gained some sewing skills and I realized I could make it again if I found the right fabric. And soon I had the right fabric! But it sat in my stash waiting for the right time.
P1070020
And NOW is that time! And here it is.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

