Sewing Projects 46: The “Epic of Epic Epicness WIP” Coat

P1060946 copy
Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Winter
Simplicity6933The Facts
Fabric: Green stretch wool from Mood $50 for two and a half yards, lining from stash
Pattern: Simplicity 6933
Year: 1966
Notions: 4 covered buttons from stash
Time to complete: 7 hours of work on the muslin, at least 15 hours on the coat so far
First worn: Just for fitting right now
Wear again? I should hope so!
Total price: ~$50

I hope you will all forgive me for showing a work in progress. I couldn’t just do something else when the opportunity was so perfect. Once this is finished, this coat needs a parade in my oh-so humble opinion. It’s been two years in the making!! I finally found this wool at Mood back in May and have been waiting patiently for the big reveal! Also, it’s been a bit of a weird/surreal week for other reasons, and trying to finish this up on the weekend was sort of hellish. I was staying up way too late and eventually I just realized it wasn’t going to happen before my picture taking deadline on Sunday afternoon.
P1060949 copy
Husband was making Project Runway jokes – that I was going to be disqualified and sent home! After this year of sewing I can better appreciate the super fast paced timeline that show works on.
P1060954 copy
So no, it’s not done. It still needs the full lining, buttons and hems. Plus I may redo some darts that are looking a bit dimply.
P1060964 copy
Since this was such a special garment, I started out with a muslin. And thank goodness because the sleeves were of course way too low – like, six inches too low – and way too wide! What is it with vintage patterns and super low arm scythes? Anyway, It took a few hours of staring at the pieces, adding scraps, and pinching here and there before I felt ok with cutting into the real fabric.
P1060965 copy
The facing fabric is some Tufted Tweets by Laurie Wisbrun that I’ve held on to for about a year. I absolutely love it with this. The green of the wool is proving difficult to photograph correctly. It’s more Christmas/emerald green in real life but turns out more blue on camera. My photoshop skills are only intermediate so the bit of color correcting I tried didn’t really help that much.
P1060977 copy
I’ll be so glad to finally get to wear it! We might even have cold weather by then!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

