Sewing Projects 45: The “Jet Setting” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: 1960s
The Facts
Fabric: Light grey cotton flannel from Vogue Fabrics in Chicago $10 for two and a half yards but I haven’t use it all
Pattern: Simplicity 7127
Year: 1967
Notions: 7″ zipper $.50, 4 buttons from stash
Time to complete: 9 hours (9 eps of The Case-Book of Sherlock Holmes)
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? Definitely
Total price: $10.50

Surprise! I was in Chicago last week! For only 8 hours! It was for work and I was absolutely exhausted when I got home. I had just enough time after my work thing to run into Vogue for 40 minutes before I had to get on the train back to the airport to catch my flight back to Detroit. But I did it because it was important to sample the local fare!

This fabric was only $4 a yard but the fiber content was unknown. I suspected it was a poly blend – which I’m trying to stay away from – but this was such a good price, and feels really wonderful! So I did a burn test when I got home and I still think it has some polyester in it, but not much because it burned like a cotton.

Anyway, I was originally planning for this to be another Simplicity 6933 like my Mad Men dress, but then I remembered this pattern that I hadn’t done up yet. I felt really odd about having a matching top and bottom like on the envelope, and I probably won’t wear them together ever again.

I also intended to make a little jacket with the fabric I had left over, but time didn’t allow. I decided to use my Black Friday putting finishing touches on things around the new place (hanging pictures and curtains) instead of sewing.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Projects 45: The “Jet Setting” Outfit

  1. photosarah says:

    I have this same pattern. Was the sizing accurate? Any suggestions when making it?

    • Sully Liz says:

      The skirt was fine – the only thing I did was shorten it by 3 inches. The shirt may cause some problems. It is not as fitted as I would have liked it and I may go back and take it all in a little bit. Also, it would have been easier to just give it a full lining than mess with the facing pieces they give you. But then again the hem would have been more difficult. After the Bow Tied Blouse I was expecting this to go smoother than it did. Oh well. Good luck on yours!!!

Leave a Reply

