Sewing Projects 44: The “Black is the new Black” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Black and White
The Facts
Fabric: Black medium-weight knit from Mood $10
Pattern: A modified Stretch & Sew 1505
Year: 1974
Notions: Scrap of hem tape for reinforcing the shoulders
Time to complete: 6 hours (6 eps of Psych)
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? Yes, quite a bit I suspect
Total price: $10

I purchased this knit from Mood’s online sale back in the summer and knew all along that it was going to be a dress. It was only a matter of time, really.

I know some people don’t like wearing black because they feel like it’s too dreary, but it’s been sort of my go-to color for about 12 years now. I had a long black & white phase immediately after college, and now it’s black & grey. Way back in my school days I either read or heard someone comment that someone else was fashionable and they responded, “The secret is to wear a lot of black.” That obviously stuck with me as I developed my own style. That, and that you should have two weeks between wearing the same outfit. Anyway, black looks flattering on EVERYONE, you can always find shoes to match, and it’s a blank canvas for lots and lots of accessories! So yes, I love wearing black.

So I raised the neckline and made a little square detail in the center. I also made the skirt fuller so it would swish a bit.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Projects 44: The “Black is the new Black” Dress

  1. sue says:

    Cute! I especially love that last photo in the post. Too adorable. :)

Leave a Reply

