Sewing Projects 43: The “Untied Bow Tie” Blouse


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Shirt
The Facts
Fabric: White cotton with green dots from B&J Fabrics in NYC $12
Pattern: The Bow-Tie Blouse from Gertie’s Book for Better Sewing
Year: 2012
Notions: 4 covered snaps, and 1 regular snap from stash
Time to complete: 6 hours
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? I’d wear it every day if I could.
Total price: $12
[ETA] Oh snap! I got featured again!!! Who the what now?!


I procrastinated this challenge a lot because I was a) indecisive, b) super busy, and c) still recovering from my cold. I couldn’t decide between this fabric or the other fabric I bought at B&J’s when I was in NYC two months ago. I was worried this was going to look a little clown-ish but I do love it in the end.

This is the first garment I’ve made from Gertie’s book. I did make a few changes, such as lowering the neckline in the front by about an inch, and adding a little ease to the waist. I also used these vintage covered snaps instead of actual buttons.

The pattern went together fairly easily. I’ve never done bust darts this long but I’ve seen them used a lot and I actually quite like them. The only real trouble I had was tying the tie! Maybe it was just the fabric I chose but despite Gertie’s assurance that you will get “a perfectly tied bow tie every time because the knot lies flat” I just couldn’t get it right. The bow stuck out way too much and the knot was so thick! So I just made one knot and tried to make it look nice.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

