Sewing Projects 42: The “London Calling” Apron


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Apron
The Facts
Fabric: London fabrics by Timeless Treasures $12 but I didn’t use all of them, and they were a gift from my mom, so free to me!
Pattern: Self-drafted
Year: Timeless
Notions: Scrap of bias binding from stash
Time to complete: 2 hours (2 eps of Supernatural)
First worn: For pictures!
Wear again? Hopefully I will remember to wear it while cooking all the time!
Total price: $0

I have always loved these half aprons. I had one as a child that I think was made out of a dish towel (aka tea towel) with a giant brown flower on it. It was 70s ugly, but I liked it because it was a fun, extra skirt that I got to wear while baking with my mom!

I found these fabrics while on a fabric shop-hopping trip with my mom a few months ago. We found these at the first shop we went to and I was immediately smitten with them. I thought I was pretty studied-up on what London-theme fabrics were out there, but I hadn’t seen these yet so it was especially nice. I didn’t get much of each (1/2’s and 5/8’s) because they were expensive (in my opinion), and also I wasn’t quite sure what I to do with them. Apparently whenever my mom sees a fabric she likes but doesn’t know what to do with she goes the opposite direction and gets at least 3 yards of it. …And I just realized that’s how she has ended up with so much left-over and never-used fabric in her stash that I get to root through sometimes.

Anyway, I figured the Apron challenge was a good time to bust these out. In my planning I was going to do more embellishing, but then I got a rather bad cold last week and didn’t do much of anything for a full 5 days. So this was a last-minute whip-up on the weekend.

The lighting isn’t very good in our house but husband took a few photos while we made pizza.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

