Sewing Projects 40: The “Alice the Camel (Color)” Skirt


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Fall Palette
The Facts
Fabric: Camel knit from Jo-Anns $5
Pattern: Self drafted from tutorial found on Pinterest
Year: 2012
Notions: Elastic from stash
Time to complete: 1 hour but I need to fix it (2 eps of The Daily Show)
First worn: To walk around Greenfield Village
Wear again? Oh yes!
Total price: ~$5
[ETA] I was featured again! Yay!


It is only recently that have I embraced brown as a color in my wardrobe. I’m not usually into shades of brown. But I am awfully fond of these brown Oxfords I bought at Target (probably a year ago) and I wanted to make more things to go with them.

I chose to do a skirt because I have a running tally of all the garments I’ve made for the Sew Weekly challenges and skirts are under represented at the moment. I chose this knit because genuine camel mohair was just too darn expensive! Plus, jersey! Hello, easy to fit!

I used my hip measurement, instead of my waist as suggested in the tutorial, because I didn’t want it to be super skin-tight. I tapered a little for the waist so it wouldn’t be super bunchy. It’s a tad loose so I will take it in a bit more later. I also encased the elastic waistband because I didn’t have any that would match nicely. …So I guess this was a really loose following of the tutorial… But the good news is, I finally remembered to use my stretch stitch settings instead of remembering when I’m almost finished, like I usually do.

Anyway, the tutorial says it took her 15 minutes “including a short chocolate break” so I figured I’d actually time myself. Because if anyone can have a suggested completion time and instead take for.ev.er, it’s me! So I thought an hour was pretty good actually. But then I realized I cut the elastic too long and should take it in a few inches. I also realized after looking at the pics that didn’t iron out the crease in the front. C’est la vie.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

