Sewing Projects 37: The “Better Late Than Never” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Blue
The Facts
Fabric: Blue stretch cotton $4, dot-printed stretch cotton $14 from Mood
Pattern: McCall’s 5972 and Simplicity 2209
Year: 2010s
Notions: 16″ zipper $1
Time to complete: 5 hours
First worn: To work on Thursday
Wear again? Yes, yes!
Total price: ~$19

This week was a bit of a life challenge for me. Husband and I were on vacation last week, and as soon as we got home we packed up our apartment and moved two towns over to a bigger place. So, yay bigger place! But, boo to packing and moving and disrupting the comfortable, quiet life we are used to. (We had way more “stuff” than we both thought and where was it all hiding in our tiny one-bedroom?!)

I didn’t totally panic about this week because I started this dress before we went on vacation. For a very brief moment I considered finishing it as well, but then sanity resumed and I decided not to kill myself trying to rush through.

But then moving took way longer than I imagined and didn’t get to work on it again until Wednesday night of this week. So for the first time this year I didn’t get to submit my project before Monday. Disappointment in my “tardiness” gave way to sheer exhaustion pretty quickly.

Besides, I got it done. So it’s a win.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

