Sewing Projects 36: The “She’s a Harbor Chick!” Top

Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Polka Dots
The Facts
Fabric: Green “Ta Dot” fabric by Michael Miller $9 but I’m calling it free because I used a gift certificate from last Christmas
Pattern: Kazz’s Square Sewing again
Year: Contemporary
Notions: None!
Time to complete: 5 hours (reruns of The Daily Show)
First worn: Sept 8th to a work thing and then Sept 13th to Lower Manhattan and Liberty and Ellis Islands!
Wear again? Oh yes!
Total price: ~$0

So I actually had this top done before the Gatsby challenge because I got the order confused in my brain. (I think I just really wanted to do some polka dots!!) I had it all done, accessories ready for pictures, and then I realized I was wrong. At least it wasn’t super involved and I still had several days to start and finish the Gatsby challenge.

The construction was basically the same as my Yellow Challenge top. Except this obviously isn’t a knit so I had to be more precise in my measurements so it could fit over my shoulders. I also flipped down the neckline more this time so it wouldn’t cut across my neck so much.
 The yellow belt I’ve had since before I owned a sewing machine (made it by HAND!! so don’t look too closely lol), but I made the headband special as per my husband’s recommendation. I really need to make more ribbon belts in other colors so I have more options with accessories!
 So yes, I was in New York City last week on vacation with the hubs. He had never been so we did a lot of touristy things, like the Statue of Liberty. The title of this comes from Ghostbusters II and a Bill Murray line about Lady Liberty being tough and I kept saying it over and over with my best Murray impression. Husband was nice enough to take a few moments for a quick photoshoot. We had amazing weather and really enjoyed ourselves. And of course there was fabric shopping!!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

