Gertie’s Book!! And Some SW Reflection

For days I’ve been seeing people post their excitement over receiving Gertie’s New Book for Better Sewing, only to come home to no book. Sadface. It took me a day to remember that I had it shipped to my parents’ house in case we had already moved by the time it arrived. So last night I went over to theirs for dinner, and there it was!!! Completely gorgeous. I am SO excited to make one of the included patterns. CAN’T WAIT!

My favorite thing about the book is this variation:

I’m so chuffed that Alfred Shaheen gets a mention!

Two years ago I worked with his daughter, Camille Shaheen, to bring the exhibit of his work to my museum. It was seriously the best thing I’ve ever had the pleasure to work on. Everything was just GORGEOUS. Back then I didn’t sew but I think it had a profound impact on my desire to learn. My mom bought me a sewing machine a few weeks after the exhibit closed and I’ve basically been strapped to it ever since. We have a few pieces of Shaheen’s 70’s polyester designs in our permanent collection, and I browse Etsy and Ebay every now and then to drool over the really nice 50’s/60’s things we can’t afford to purchase. Maybe one day.

Finally, husband surprised me this week by letting me know he wanted to take me on a special trip for my 30th birthday next year. He wanted to make sure I actually would like to do it before spending the money. This location is somewhere that I will never, ever say ‘no’ to visiting. If I was on my deathbed and someone asked if I’d like to go there, I would jump up and pack my suitcase. (Note this in case I ever need resuscitation.) If you know me you already know where it is, but as we haven’t booked anything yet I’m keeping mum lest I jinx it.

So anyway, all that was to tell you that he also said, “So, are you going to plan special Sew Weekly outfits and photoshoots for while we’re there?” And I had to break the news to him that Sew Weekly was only for this year, and will likely have different participants next year. I think he was a little sad about it. I think he’s been really getting into the photoshoots, and is really proud if I get featured. He’s been supportive through this whole thing and it will be weird to get back to “normal” life where I don’t feel I have two jobs!

That sounds like I’m terribly frazzled and stressed. But this is good stress. If I didn’t want to do this, I wouldn’t. I would just stop or do one thing a month or something. I’m very glad I committed to this. I wasn’t going to be this involved. But after awhile I got caught up and I didn’t want to stop or take a break. It’s very rewarding to look back at how much I’ve accomplished, and I am looking forward to the finish line for that sense of a job well done.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY, Reading List and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

