Sewing Projects 31: The “Tori’s Walk” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Music
The Facts
Fabric: Floral cotton blend $5
Pattern: Simplicity 2209
Year: 2011
Notions: 14″ zipper $2
Time to complete: 6 hours (Olympics coverage)
First worn: For pictures around the neighbourhood
Wear again? I don’t see why not
Total price: ~$7

It took me a really long time to commit to doing this dress. I don’t know why, it just did. At first I wanted to do some alt-rock outfit for the hubs but then we went through all the clothes he no longer wears because they’re not “mature” enough and decided it was a bad idea to contribute to a style he no longer likes.

So I had to come up with a new inspiration. Long story short, I started thinking about the 90s and Lilith Fair and all those lady artists and decided a nice girly floral dress à la Tori Amos’s Scarlet’s Walk album cover.

This isn’t the nicest fabric. I bought it because it was only $2 a yard and I thought I would use it to practice new patterns. I noticed one small flaw just above the selvedge when it was being cut but I didn’t say anything because I’m never one to complain about anything ever! Plus I knew I’d just cut around it very easily. Well I should have inspected the whole thing before I started cutting because there was a long flawed line in the weaving, right in the middle of my piece! Had I noticed it before I could have manoeuvred around it, but alas I only noticed it when I had the largest pieces left and couldn’t fit them in without including the flaw. So I just made sure it’d be on my back. Not that you can even see it in the pictures. But I know it’s there.

When husband saw the dress hanging up ready for the photoshoot he said, “Ooooo that’s cute! You don’t usually do anything with flowers, right?” Which, no I don’t, so points to him for noticing! And when I had it on and ready to go he said, “It’s not ‘you’, but I still like it.” So that’s good I guess!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sewing Projects 31: The “Tori’s Walk” Dress

  1. BeingZhenya says:

    That’s so cute! It’d be perfect for fall too with boots and a cardigan :)

Leave a Reply

