Sewing Projects 29: The “I’m NOT Too Old For This…Yet” Leggings


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Olympics
The Facts
Fabric: Black cotton jersey $5 from Mood’s online sale
Pattern: Modified Simplicity 8088
Year: 1998
Notions: Elastic from stash
Time to complete: 4 hours (4 eps Agatha Christie’s Poirot)
First worn: To class on Tuesday
Wear again? Indeed!
Total price: ~$5

Back when I was young, I used to be a gymnast and a dancer. I quit gymnastics before high school but I kept up dance as a hobby until grad school – basically from age 3 to 25. Despite living basically across the street from one, I hadn’t been in a dance studio for about 4 1/2 years. It took a few pep-talks from the hubs, but I finally signed up for adult ballet a few weeks ago. Man, my joints were stiff!

My parents used to marvel at my flexibility and remark, “Keep at it otherwise you’ll lose it when you’re older.” I never believed them. I was impervious to age! In the last year is when I’ve started to notice things going down hill. Joints ache, muscles ache – for NO REASON! But being back in class for a few weeks now has really helped get me back in shape.

I just walk to class from my apartment so I like to be covered up a bit. I thought these could go from walk to warm-ups pretty well. I wanted to also make a top for this week, but didn’t have time. I finished the last seam on the waist just in time for class this week. I snuck a photo in one of the empty studios on my way out.

Husband is the real soccer enthusiast in the fam, but I tried some soccer moves anyway. He shouted at me for not getting my planted foot close enough to the ball, but I didn’t want to hit the camera!…or him.

And a back walkover for good measure.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

