Sewing Projects 28: The “Jumping the Queue” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Reality Check
The Facts
Fabric: Striped cotton jersey from Mood sale, $10 for 2 yards
Pattern: Modified Stretch & Sew 1505
Year: 1979
Notions: Elastic from stash
Time to complete: 8 hours (8 eps Party Animals)
First worn: To look at a new apartment and run errands on Saturday
Wear again? Aye, aye!
Total price: ~$10

I was going to do trousers. I was. For weeks I had it in my mind I was going to make them. I had everything ready! But then it got hot outside. Blistering hot! I couldn’t bear to wear trousers. And I couldn’t keep wearing the same half-dozen lighter skirts and tops, and two summery dresses over and over again to work. I need more freedom in my wardrobe! I need more dresses so I don’t have to pick out both a top and a bottom! Whole outfit in one go. Done. Sorted.

So this had to happen. And I couldn’t be more pleased! I’ve been eyeing striped dresses for a bit and I bought this fabric especially to make one (and a 3/4 sleeve top for fall). I was heavily influenced by the “What’s the Line-Up” Dress in the Make-This-Look feature last week. I’m always boring and do the prints the same way, so breaking out of my bubble was weird but rewarding.

Obviously I made a few modifications to the pattern. First, I skipped sleeves and just bound the arm holes. Second, I made the scoop-neck less drastic. Third, and most significant, I added an elastic waist. I simply used the waistline mark to decide where to cut the top and bottom separately, and added seam allowance to both pieces. I then joined them as if I was doing a French seam, trapping the elastic in between. Simple! And it doesn’t tickle my tummy.

Can you see how nice the collar is in the pics? This was my second try as the first one “waffled” (is that a real term because it’s the only thing I could think of to describe it.) So I watched a few YouTube videos on tricks to sew a perfect neckline et voila! Practically perfect in every way!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

