Sewing Projects 26: The “Any Excuse for Lace” Cardigan


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Embellishments
The Facts
Fabric: Lace tablecloth fabric $4
Pattern: Stretch & Sew 300
Year: 1974
Notions: 5 snaps and pearl trim from stash, bias tape $.50
Time to complete: 7 hours with hand-sewing a lot (7 eps of Monarchy)
First worn: Down to the in-laws’ place
Wear again? Occasionally
Total price: ~$4.50

I’ve seen a few lace cardigans around Pinterest, and I have a RTW one in navy, so I thought I’d give it a go as something that would be an embellishment to any outfit. I consider this two interpretations of the challenge in one!

I got this from the home decor section of a little fabric shop. I think it’s supposed to be for tablecloths and it wasn’t expensive so I gave it a try. Some of the edges at the neck did start to unravel a little bit but I fixed that with the bias tape finish.

The pearl trim is actually from my mom’s friend. She helped me three days before my wedding, when I was freaking out about the look of my veil (veils are WEIRD they look very pretty in photos, but having one on feels so unnatural!!) I didn’t end up using it but she told me to keep it. There was exactly enough to go up both plackets and around the neck – as if that’s what it was meant for all this time.

This is definitely a garment that falls into the “icing” category of clothes, but I figure that I have so much “cake” a little decoration is needed every now and then.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Projects 26: The “Any Excuse for Lace” Cardigan

  1. I love the pearls – icing is important in life don’t you know :o)

Leave a Reply

