Sewing Projects 25: The “Lucky Stars” Blouse


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Red, White, and Blue
The Facts
Fabric: Embroidered cotton $6 from my NYC trip, white cotton for facings $1?
Pattern: Simplicity 2154
Year: 1960s reissue
Notions: Snap from stash
Time to complete: 6 hours (6 eps of Psych)
First worn: Up-town to the war memorials across from City Hall
Wear again? Probably
Total price: ~$7

When I was in New York in May the new challenges hadn’t yet been posted, so I wasn’t really looking for things that would specifically fulfill them. However, when I happened upon this embroidered awesomeness at the same shop as the “Vegas” sequins, I realized that we would more than likely have a Fourth of July themed challenge. I snapped up a little over a yard.

I thought maybe it would be good for an overlay for a summer dress, but then after the Diamond Jubilee and TV outfits I realized it had to be another one of these blouses. It’s very sheer, (would you call it a cotton gauze?) so I have to wear a cami underneath it. I’ve gone with another lightweight white cotton as the facing for the collar and bow pieces, instead of interfacing or having the stars show through from the back. Those stars are a bear to sew a seam through so that was avoided as much as possible. And I did the back closure correctly this time! No “big head” issues!

By the way, have you ever studied the envelope image? I noticed that in the vintage drawings the points of the bow ends are pointing down toward the stomach, but in the made-up samples they are pointing away, toward the shoulders. The pattern directions have you point them down, and both times I’ve made this top I’ve pointed them down. I just found the discrepancy interesting.

Here’s a close-up of the fabric so you can see it better. I also made the blue skirt in the pics about a year ago. It gets a lot of use as a nice basic.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Projects 25: The “Lucky Stars” Blouse

  1. sue says:

    That IS interesting – I like your way (and the vintage illustration way) better, personally. Girl, you keep making such cute versions of this blouse that’s been on my to-sew list forever! Stop!–but don’t! I love it – I need to get my act together and make my own! :)

    • Sully Liz says:

      Do it!! I left out the side zipper on this one too because there is enough ease built-in to the pattern, and also the interfacing in the collar because I think it makes it too stiff. I also eye-balled the shape of the bow this time, instead of following the directions to the letter. It’s a pretty easy top to whip up. I don’t have plans for another just yet, but I can’t get enough of it so this won’t be the last! :)

Leave a Reply

