Sewing Projects 23: The “Staycation” Lounge Pants


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Vacation
The Facts
Fabric: The last of my grey striped jersey $4 maybe?
Pattern: Simplicity 8088 from mom’s collection
Year: 1998
Notions: Ribbon from stash
Time to complete: 4 hours (8 eps of Scrubs)
First worn: To bed the night I finished them
Wear again? Yup!
Total price: ~$4

I don’t come from a “beach vacation” sort of family. We never went on a cruise or to a tropical island. Our family vacations were almost always to National Parks. Which we all really liked, but to this day I don’t really go to the beach – or even the hotel pool. My favorite places to go on vacation always revolve around a big city, or just visiting family out of state, where I would just wear my regular clothes in both cases.

So in that, “normal clothes” theme I’ve gone with something I could wear in any city, any time of the year…pajamas! I missed the great pajama sew-along a few weeks ago and definitely felt a little left out in the end. I knew I’d make some eventually.

This pattern is from my mom’s stash. She made me a few pairs of pj bottoms from this when I was in high school and college, but they were always out of a flannel novelty print. I’ve gone more “grown up” with these stripes. I think this ribbon is temporary. It was the only type I had in this width (which I think is perfect) and it just happened to be an excellent match for the stripes. It doesn’t slip with the fabric very well, so I’ll have to find something a little more silky.

Other than that I’m pretty pleased with them. I measured some other pj pants that I really like to make sure the fit would be similar. They are stretchy and soft so there was very little to mess up. I like my pj’s to be long but I might hem them just a tad more.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

