Sewing Projects 20: The “I Wear My Sunglasses At Night” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Las Vegas
The Facts
Fabric: Clip-dot chiffon $5, sequin fabric $15, black lining remnants $3
Pattern: Self-drafted skirt and Stretch & Sew 300
Year: Now obviously, and 1974
Notions: 7″ invisible zip $1
Time to complete: 7 hours (14 eps of 30 Rock)
First worn: Just for pics
Wear again? When I want to be fancy
Total price: ~$24
I was scared, but this week was awesome! If you missed any of the fantastic creations, catch-up here. Also, I got featured again! *blush*


It may not shock you in the least to learn that I have never been to Las Vegas. I just don’t have the personality for it (read boring). So of course when this theme popped up I panicked (I obsess over SW a lot). And then I took a deep breath and plunged into searching for sequinned fabric. As you do. But the real kind, not the glued-on metallic dots kind. This proved about as difficult as I expected. There are options online, but they’re often quite expensive.

It was a little difficult to find exactly what I wanted, but prep for this challenge just so happened to coincide with the need to go to NYC for work. Garment district with a ton of fabric shops?! Heck. Yes. So I allowed myself to splurge on some fabrics that needed to go home with me. I was actually pleasantly surprised to find these sequins for under $20 a yard – heck, under $50! Other types are probably softer on the reverse side, this one had to be lined lest I scratch my skin off.

At first I wanted to go more for 1960s Vegas/Ocean’s 11-original Rat Pack version. And pictures of Angie Dickinson, brought me around to this bolero and outfit that I pinned from Etsy over a year ago. Once I had the top sorted out I just needed to figure out the bottom. And I eventually came around to this tutu-like skirt. The clipped-dots even add a little more sparkle! I sort of got a little Sex And The City vibe when I put my pointy shoes on, but that’s not really “Vegas”. Hmmm…

Anyway, I got this silly idea to do the photos like paparazzi snaps of celebrities. I wasn’t totally married to the idea if they ended up looking stupid, but I thought a few were actually sort of cool. This is an “evening” sort of outfit anyway. Gina, Kazz, and Rachel’s consistently high-fashion photo shoots really inspired me to break out of my boring bubble.

I wanted to try this outfit with a white t-shirt too, but husband said it looked a little “Michael Jackson” and I ultimately agreed. Here’s some day-time photos to get the details better.

The sequins are actually two different kinds, layered. Yes, they went EVERYWHERE as I sewed. They no doubt found their way into my machine, so that needs to be cleaned now.

The lining kept weirdly peeping out on my right side. Apparently I need to re-fit it. Otherwise, I’m pleasantly very surprised by this outfit. Husband said it looks more “me” with the flat shoes. Now we just need to actually go out at night.
The title was “The ‘Sparkle Motion’ Outfit” for a long time because I thought it was going to look like I was a contestant on Star Search, but I thought it ended up being better than that, so Corey Hart won.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sewing Projects 20: The “I Wear My Sunglasses At Night” Outfit

  1. Niiiice! Very glam rock, I like the self drafted skirt-did you have any problems sewing over the sequins?

    • Sully Liz says:

      Thank you! Since I was sewing with the right-sides together, it wasn’t too bad. I went slowly, and only a few times would a loose sequin angle itself weirdly and snag on the feed teeth. I used a heavy-duty needle and cleaned my machine really well afterwards.

  2. Oh look. Sparkles. Very cute and yay for finding fab fabric in NY. I hope you are going to wear these again?

  3. Aiesha Morris says:

    It is a dream of mine to shop in the garment district. Love your outfit!

Leave a Reply

