Sewing Projects 19: The “Grown-Up Molly” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: 1940s
The Facts
Fabric: Blue/white dot satiny something $7, grey suiting remnant $3 – both from Jo-Anns
Pattern: Simplicity 3688
Year: 2011 reissue of a 1940s pattern
Notions: 7″ zip $2, two buttons from stash
Time to complete: 12 hours (24 eps of Archer)
First worn: Just for pictures.
Wear again? The skirt, for sure.
Total price: ~$13

So I have to start out by saying that I have never liked the look of this pattern envelope. It’s just blah. But I was convinced I had to have it after seeing Mena and Debi Fry make it up, and then Meg’s blouse put me over the top. I ended up winning a Simplicity giveaway from One Week One Pattern, and this was on my list. Of course I had completely forgotten that it was coming my way when the new themes were posted and I saw this challenge. So I panicked about what I would do…until my winnings came in the mail and I rejoiced that I had been so unintentionally forward thinking.

The next step was figuring out fabric. For some reason I couldn’t stop thinking about Molly, the American Girl Doll. I guess she was my first introduction to the 40s, and I just loved her story. Anyway, her many red, white and blue outfits made me think of this blue/white fabric in my stash that was originally going to be a lining for something (I can’t remember) I never made. And in my constant effort to never be too noticeable, I decided on another grey skirt – because you can never have too many IMHO, and I thought the pants were too difficult. Also, this particular grey suiting always seems to make it into the remnant bin at Jo-Anns, and I’ve rescued it three different times.

Husband thinks the top may be a bit much. I’m still on the fence. The neck is a bit too high for comfort, and the fabric is so slippery it comes un-tucked at every movement. The skirt also needs a good anti-static treatment, it was clinging to me like mad.

I was trying to find some Americana backgrounds for the photoshoot. We basically scoured our neighborhood for cute houses with flags up. I’m afraid my victory curls were an epic failure, my hair is just too long I think, but I put on lipstick! I get points for trying, right?

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Sewing Projects 19: The “Grown-Up Molly” Outfit

  1. Sue says:

    Points? yes! I think this look is totally cute on you. The skirt is classic and the top is sweet – not too much.

  2. You so get points. The skirt is classic and I will be interested to see how you get on with sorting out the clinging. The top is cute too though I know what you mean about the neckline feeling too high.

Leave a Reply

