Sewing Projects 17: The “Ma in her Kerchief” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Mother’s Day
The Facts
Fabric: White cotton broadcloth $4, grey stretch sateen (mend item, not including in price)
Pattern: modified Simplicity 2211 and 2245
Notions: 5 buttons from stash ($.50)
Time to complete: 7 hours (7 eps of Upstairs Downstairs)
First worn: To dinner on Sunday
Wear again? Throughout the summer for sure
Total price: $4.50
Also, check back for my Me-Made-May round up this week for an outtake from this photoshoot

I don’t remember seeing a lot of my parent’s family photos from when they were kids. I’m sure film was expensive, but also I think they’re all in slide-form and who owns a slide projector any more?! The few iconic ones I can remember seeing are certainly all slides waiting to be digitized (mom’s big project for two summers now). I happened to find this one in an album for “Enlargements” (mainly school/dance pictures from my bros and me) and I was taken by how all the girls seemed to be dressed the same.

This pic is from June 1966 so my mom is probably a sophomore in high school. She is the oldest of the five siblings; four girls, one boy. I’m not sure why they’ve decided this moment for a family pic on the porch. It’s not for anyone’s birthday that I can tell. Maybe for last day of school? We still take pics like this when we get together, so maybe it’s for no other reason than to have picture of that moment in time.

Anyway, I have no imagination for colorizing black and white pictures so I just went for a white and grey outfit. At first I thought all the girls were in dresses, but based on the way my mom’s left wrist is cocked out I think she’s wearing pants or shorts with pockets. I thought a sleeveless version of my tried-n-true Simplicity 2211 would be similar to her top at least. I embellished with a ruffle along the placket which was super annoying to put in and still looks crooked! Don’t look too closely because it’s not exactly pretty. This must have be subconsciously inspired by my Sitti’s (Syrian for “grandma”) outfit with a similar placket and ruffles, and I didn’t even really notice until I had submitted it to SW!

I made these shorts last summer in a bout of fearless, novice sewing, but I wore them…once? maybe? I basically took the Lisette Portfolio trousers pattern and just made the legs short enough to be shorts. I liked the fit, but I bungled up the fancy cuffs I made something awful! So I unpicked them and just turned up the hem instead. If it ever warms up enough around here I’ll certainly wear them this summer!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sewing Projects 17: The “Ma in her Kerchief” Outfit

  1. from the picture, the shirt placket looks phenomenal! the shorts are appropriately vintage looking as well, don’t apologize! everything looks beautiful!!

Leave a Reply

