Sewing Projects 16: The “Fresh and Free” Top


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Pink
The Facts
Fabric: Pink gingham from mom’s stash & refashioned from Buttons challenge.
Pattern: Simplicity 2593 view B
Year: 2009
Notions: Thread, self-made bias tape
Time to complete: 4 hours (8 re-runs of Daily Show & Colbert Report)
First worn: Out for a walk last week
Wear again? Not often, but probably
Total price: $0!

I really wanted to make at least one “free” garment during this whole sewing extravaganza. In an effort to make this happen I decided to hack up my less-than-stellar Buttons challenge dress and try to make it into something I’d actually wear. I think gingham is better in small doses on me so I’ve gone with a simple top for summer.

I kept the hem from the skirt – which I didn’t realize wasn’t all that long, so this top is shorter than I usually like to wear. To make this a little more “challenging” for me, I made my own bias tape for the first time! It was hard. I’m deficient at cutting fabric neatly. And ironing took forever.

I’m more pleased with this than its original form, that’s for sure. I’ll probably only break this out when it’s stifling hot.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing Projects 16: The “Fresh and Free” Top

  1. sewinsteady says:

    Oh, I think it turned out very cute! I am a big fan of gingham. :)

  2. I have that pattern, but have yet to be inspired to make sew it. It look really nice in your gingham fabric. I would like to make a gingham dress one day, don’t know why though.

Leave a Reply

