Super Sewing Helpers, Save Me!

So I’m making this top from a vintage pattern (Simplicity 2087) and there’s this weird instruction that I think I understand, but I want to be sure before I do something dumb.
(Click to enlarge the pics)
This is what the instructions say:

This is what the pattern marking looks like:

Based on the instructions, I think this means I just make a normal dart that is 1/8 of an inch at the base (meaning it would actually gather 1/4 inch of the fabric at the neckline), but the pattern piece just shows the middle fold of the dart, not what should be the stitch lines. That’s the part that is stopping me up, I’m used to seeing darts marked as triangles.

Is that right? Or is this something different I’ve never seen before? Help me Obi-Wan Sewnobi! You’re my only hope!

…Also, Happy Star Wars Day everyone!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Super Sewing Helpers, Save Me!

  1. Karissa says:

    Yep, I think you’re right! I’d just transfer the center line to your fabric, fold, do a quick press, and then measure out 1/8″ at the top and draw your dart leg to stitch along. Or you could transfer the center line and draw both legs, as we’re accustomed to seeing. Good luck, and can’t wait to see the finished project! <3

    • sewinsteady says:

      I’d concur with Karissa. Plus, if that doesn’t end up giving you the appropriate dart size and garment shape you were expecting, you can always make the dart bigger/smaller! :-)

  2. ^ This is what I would do!

  3. Trish Blair says:

    Hi Liz, I would try it on, then make the dart to fit the garment to you! People have different shaped shoulders – some have their head more forward or very sloped shoulders, or broad – like me.

    Good luck!

Leave a Reply

