Sewing Projects 15: The “My First” Circle Skirt


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Circle Skirts
The Facts
Fabric: The same navy wool worsted twill suiting from my Mad Men dress ~$5
Pattern: Just some math and a ruler!
Notions: 7″ zipper $1.50, and button from stash
Time to complete: 6 hours + a day to let it stretch (6 eps of West Wing)
First worn: Just for pictures up-town
Wear again? Sure!
Total price: $6.50

For over a year now I’ve been reading about sewists making circle skirts. They all looked very nice, sounded mildly complicated, but still relatively simple. But I never got around to making one. What fabric would be just right?!

I rarely buy more than 2 yards of one fabric at a time – unless I have a specific fabric-eating pattern in mind. So I was stuck for a little while because I’ve been trying to stick to stash-busting. It’s plain, but I think this would be more wearable. I bought so much of this wool that even after my Mad Men dress and this skirt, I still have about 2 yards left. I thought this would be nice to wear to work with a light top. It may be a wee bit too warm for summer though.

Due to it being 60″ wide, and me being short, I got away with not having to do any side seams! It made the zip insertion a little weird but I managed. I had to unpick one side and redo it because there was a weird bubble going on. I think it’s ok now.

Of course there had to be some twirl pictures…

And look! I made a swishy gif!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Projects 15: The “My First” Circle Skirt

  1. what a terrific circle skirt, i think i need to make one for myself!

Leave a Reply

