Sewing Projects 14: The “Stegosaurus” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Childhood Inspiration
The Facts
Fabric: Green knit $2.50, green “linen look” $5, yellow knit scraps $0
Pattern: Stretch & Sew 300 and Simplicity 2087
Year: 1974 and 1957
Notions: 7″ zipper $1, 9 green buttons $1, ribbon from stash, hook/eye from stash
Time to complete: ~10 hours (20 episodes of Dance Academy-this Australian show I just found on Netflix)
First worn: Just for the pictures
Wear again? Yes, but not together
Total price: $9.50
Forward: I got a lot of nice feedback on this outfit – which I really appreciate because I was convinced it was awful in the end. Separately they are nice pieces, but I just felt WEIRD wearing them together so there aren’t many pics. I’ve added some pics of the cardi in a “normal” outfit. Back to the regularly scheduled programming…

When this challenge first popped up, I almost immediately thought of this outfit. But then I thought to give it a fair shake I should go through the family albums in case I got inspired. I went through only one at random and this happened to be in there. So I decided I must be fated to make green shorts. I was originally going to draft them myself, but then my Pattern Swap partner came through with this awesome vintage pattern and I had to make it up immediately!

The non-matching shades of green between the shorts and shirt is exaggerated – but I don’t plan on ever wearing these together ever again! The pic is from 1986, so I’m 3 here. My older brothers too are rocking their dino-tees (although middle brother usually rocked triceratops, must have been in the wash), dad is classically dad, and mom is behind the camera as per usual. We’re in Windsor here, visiting some navy ship.

Anyway, I wasn’t sure I could pull off the “children’s museum” look everyday so the steggy is a pin. But the yellow is still incorporated into the backing of the button placket.

The shorts are a test-run for two things. First, as a base pattern for further shorts making. And second, to see how badly “linen look” fabric wrinkles (as opposed to 100% linen), and could I use it for the lovely and oft dreamed about, Simplicity 6933, aka my Mad Men dress. Turns out it wrinkles equally as bad, so I don’t think it’s going to happen right now. But I’m really pleased with the fit of the shorts! I wasn’t sure about them when I was sewing them up, but I like the profile.

I should have ironed the hem before taking pics. Oops.

As promised, here are some pics of how I wore the cardi to work this week. I was trying to be normal but my dearest husband and photographer tends to make me laugh and I end up with weird shots.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing Projects 14: The “Stegosaurus” Outfit

  1. I wish I had a hubby who took pics for me because I always look annoyed in mine, so they are mostly headless!! LOL. Sigh.

    Cute shorts and I like the steg – good detail that.

  2. Ever since my son started liking dinosaurs, I have found myself into them too. I even bought a brooch that is a stegosaurus. Love the dinosaur cardigan!

    http://thismummasstyle.wordpress.com/

Leave a Reply

