Sewing Projects 12: The “I Love Green So Much” Skirt


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: VIP Fabric
The Facts
Fabric: IKEA “Sophia” canvas $14, cotton scraps for the pockets $0
Pattern: McCall’s 5591 – view C this time!
Year: 2007
Notions: 7″ zipper $2, thrifted lace hem tape $.25
Time to complete: ~5 1/2 hours (5 episodes of Boardwalk Empire)
First worn: Just for pics. Needs to go back to being warm here!
Wear again? Oh my, yes.
Total price: $16.25
And I was featured again! D’awwww *blush*

I’m like a magpie attracted to shiny things, but with green. Is there a word for being obsessed with green? Because I’m that. I also like stripes. This can not be emphasized enough. Last year IKEA put the narrower stripe version of this fabric on sale. I bought some of the green/white and later went back for some of the black/white – because, hello! sale! I made placemats with some of the green and a “party” skirt with the black (but the zipper broke two months ago and I haven’t fixed it yet). At that time I also greatly admired the wide stripe version (in all the colors!!) but it wasn’t on sale, I wasn’t great at sewing, and I didn’t know what else to make, or if it would turn out at all because it’s quite thick fabric.

Then at the beginning of this year I just couldn’t take it any more so I went back and purchased the wide stripe in green, and also in navy. It’s a good thing too because it was the last of the green and there was only half a bolt of navy left, and none of these were on the website any more. Unfortunately it wasn’t on sale but I just had to have it. Had to. I’ve recently seen, and greatly admired, several different garments with bold, wide stripes so I’ve been waffling about what to actually make. The weight dictates that this had to be a structured something.

To avoid looking like a referee, or circus ringleader, I’ve gone with a skirt…but I still have some fabric left over so a top may be in my future! I pieced the pockets and waistband facings from cotton scraps so as to avoid adding even more bulk to the seams. I also used a metal zip to hopefully avoid replicating the events of the sister IKEA skirt that now lays in the “mend” pile.

This was my first time finishing a hem with stretch lace tape. I didn’t have any in my stash that matched (or even white) so I chose to go bold with some navy and make it more “nautical”. I like the peekaboo details.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Sewing Projects 12: The “I Love Green So Much” Skirt

  1. This is a really nice skirt and I love the stripes. I’ve just found your blog recently and am now off to read some more.

    PS I am a magpie for, well, any fabric it seems. As long as its not synthetic, but then that too sometimes. Sigh. Wish I could limit my obsession a little.

    • Sully Liz says:

      Thank you! And hello! Always nice to hear from a fellow sewing blogger.
      I’m in awe of how many muslins you make. I don’t think I’ve ever made a single one (to my detriment). One of these days I’ll get more diligent about fitting!

  2. I have this pattern and it’s a good one. Cute skirt, love the bold green stripeys. Accessorizes the forest very well ;)

Leave a Reply

