Sewing Projects 11: The “Cockatoo on Driftwood” Outfit


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Pantone Spring Palette
The Facts
Fabric: Grey stretch sateen $7?, aqua mystery fabric $2
Pattern: McCall’s 5591 and Sorbetto
Year: 2007 and 2011
Notions: 7″ zipper $2
Time to complete: ~5 hours (skirt: 6 episodes of Party Down, top: 2 eps of Mad Men)
First worn: The skirt, to work a few weeks ago; the top, to work last week
Wear again? Yeah, I guess
Total price: $11

The grey fabric has been in my stash for over a year and I can’t remember what I originally paid. I made shorts out of it last summer and I didn’t know what to do with the rest – I didn’t know what I was going to do with it when I bought it! The aqua fabric I bought at WalMart during the one time I’ve stepped in there…ever. They had two huge shelves of fabric for around $1.50/yard. A lot of it was on bolts for other things, or said “unknown clearance fabric; unknown fiber”. Helpful. I didn’t pick up that much because I was scared, but I did decide this was nice for some reason.

When the Pantone challenge came up I looked at the palette and thought “Cockatoo” and “Driftwood” would be an ok combo – but what to sew?! I wear a lot of black/grey/other dark colors so the skirt fits pretty seamlessly into my wardrobe but I keep noticing weird/slightly off things in my finishing which I’m not happy about. I was worried the aqua top was going to look juvenile, but it actually looks ok depending on the styling. I used the famous Sleeves for Sorbetto, and made facings for the neck instead of bias tape. The center pleat gets a bit lost with this pattern.
The top two pics are from my second set of photos for this outfit. Originally I took a few snaps at home but I was in a terrible mood so I only made tired and stern faces like this…

The only challenge I’ve skipped so far was “Accessorize” because I was super intimidated right out of the gate. But I should have made this top back then, because it fits so well with this necklace my mother-in-law got me for Christmas 2010 (from Etsy). But of course my mind was blank at the time. C’est la vie. Here’s a close-up of the fabric. I didn’t know how to describe the detail.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Projects 11: The “Cockatoo on Driftwood” Outfit

  1. Pingback: Me-Made-May 2012: Week One | The Cataloguer

Leave a Reply

