Sewing Projects 5: The “Librarian-Issued” Cardigan


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Red
The Facts
Fabric: Polyester knit from Jo-Anns ~$3
Pattern: Stretch & Sew 300
Year: 1974
Notions: 10 buttons ~$1
Time to complete: ~3 hours (6 episodes of Parks & Rec)
First worn: Just for pics
Wear again? Every Feb 14th and Dec 1st probably.
Total price: ~$4

I was originally going to sit this week out because I don’t actually wear red that often. But I decided to make another S&S cardigan quickly and try out some new techniques. Also, my outfits almost always include a cardigan strictly out of necessity, so why not start making one in every color. I also took two sets of pictures for this theme. The first shows off the skirt more, but the second are better “styled” and were used in the original Sew Weekly post.

I shortened the body by about 4 inches because I feel like it better fits my short torso, and shows off skirts nicely. I also did a grosgrain ribbon facing to the button and button hole plackets – which I’ve been wanting to try for a while. I also added a pocket! I don’t remember why I thought this pose showed off the pocket to its full potential. But there it is…twice.

I did the whole thing without the aid of a walking foot (I’m afraid to use it after the needle-breaking incident) and it still turned out ok. The fabric isn’t the greatest but I don’t imagine I’ll be wearing it that often. It’s more for when I need an emergency color injection into my outfit. I also made the skirt in these pics last autumn and never took photos of it for my blog, so I’m checking off that task too.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Projects 5: The “Librarian-Issued” Cardigan

  1. 7cakes says:

    That’s so cute! I love the pockets =D

Leave a Reply

