Sewing Projects 4: The “No Longer A Pilgrim” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: UFOs
The Facts
Fabric: Purple dot cotton from Jo-Anns ~$5
Pattern: Lisette for Simplicity 2245
Year: 2011
Notions: 2 buttons ~$1
Time to complete: ~8 hours originally, ~2 hours to fix it (2 episodes of West Wing)
First worn: Just for pics
Wear again? I think so
Total price: ~$6

I fell in love with this fabric at the store and was super excited to make it into the Portfolio dress. After getting to a good place with it, I tried it on and felt like a pilgrim in a purple sack – it was way too big, kinda short, and all around unflattering. It sat off to the side for over 9 months mocking me. I kept saying I’d do something with it to make it wearable and never got around to it. As I’m new to sewing I don’t have many UFOs. My “pile” was only the cardigan I finished for the buttons challenge, this dress, and the blouse version from this pattern – this is not a flattering pattern for me apparently!

I forgot to take a “before” photo of me wearing it, and I had already hacked the sleeves off when I realized this. So here it is laying on the living room floor with the sleeves sneakily back in place. The white collar and “bib” is what gave me the pilgrim vibe. All I was missing was a buckle on my hat.

To complete this project, and finally get to wear it, I snipped off the giant long sleeves, removed the collar facing and turned the previous collar into the facing for a new wide neckline. I then put in the button closures on the back and finally finished the hem with some ribbon because just turned up a centimeter was bordering on too short. I still feel it looks a little sack-like but I think the addition of a belt helps a touch. This is definitely a casual summery dress.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

