Sewing Projects 3: “If I Were In Oz” Dress


Originally written for, and posted at, The Sew Weekly. Theme: Opposite Season
The Facts
Fabric: Green stripes and dots “Stretch Jersey ITY” from Fabric.com
Pattern: Stretch & Sew 1505
Year: c. 1980
Notions: Nothing but thread!
Time to complete: 8 hours
First worn: For pics, January 2012
Wear again? When it’s warmer!
Total price: ~$4
I realize that the fact that this dress has sleeves doesn’t make it necessarily look like a summer dress, but trust me, it is. The fabric is SO THIN (hence the slightly visible slip) and consistently cold to the touch – which I imagine will be a great feature come summer. I have to have sleeves on my dresses (even summer ones) because I work in a basement office in a museum with a consistent temperature of 65-70F year-round. But I’ll still have to wear a cardi over this.

The only modification I made was making the hem 6 inches shorter to hit at my knee (as in the envelope view) because I am apparently the shortest person on earth. This pattern used the French Tack neckline technique which I’d never done before so that was really interesting, and my results are….interesting too. The overall shape did turn out more flattering than I was expecting, so that’s good I guess.

I did hit a milestone with this project, I broke my first needle! Actually, two needles because something kept getting misaligned with my walking foot and the needle kept hitting the presser foot part instead of going in the throat plate hole, and it would all get jammed and clunk really loudly until the needle would break. Luckily I only had 12 inches of hem left to sew (and the belt) so I just switched to a regular foot and made it work. Anyone have any idea what’s going wrong?

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

