Sewing Plan for the New Year Part 2

Continuing on from my last plan post, some more boards to start organizing my ideas to possibly fill during the The Sew Weekly Challenges.


[UPDATE] After looking at the pattern envelope more closely, it’s actually circa 1979-1980.
My mom got this pattern at an estate sale last year and I didn’t know if I liked it enough. But I just bought the stripe/dot jersey from Fabric.com and I hope to make it into the dress (view A). I also recently purchased some solid green jersey from Jo-Ann’s red-tag clearance section. It was a miracle-find and I took what was left on the bolt (~1.25 yards). I’m thinking cardigan more than t-shirt.


I’ve also purchased this green houndstooth suiting. I want to do another (view B) skirt, and a jacket (pattern TBA – possibly a modified version of view D) and I think a cream blouse (view E) underneath. I get a Jackie Kennedy or Michelle Obama (with sleeves) vibe from this fabric. At any rate I’m imagining another “Senator’s Wife”-type outfit that I love to do so much.


And lastly, I’ve only made one shirt out of this pattern and I think it’s time for another (or two). The rolled collar neckline detail doesn’t always look nice so I may skip it and do just views B and D. I purchased these two prints from Fabric.com when they recently went on sale. They are odd prints but I was drawn to them. They definitely don’t “go together” but I think they could be paired with a neutral bottom and work well.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Sewing Plan for the New Year Part 2

  1. BeingZhenya says:

    Love those patterns, I have a box of vintage patterns that should be fun to make :) Good luck with your projects! Keep us posted!

Leave a Reply

