Sew This Is Christmas

I guess I never realized or fully appreciated the number of hand-made things we have around at Christmas. My mom is one of the craftiest people I know in real life and she had incredible foresight in her crafts.

She made the five of us matching stockings in 1984 or 85 (like mine, right). And this year, she made one for my husband as well (left). I wanted to make one for him last year for our first Christmas as marrieds, but I didn’t have time or the sewing skills yet. She did a great job of matching them!

Also seen in the first picture is our family’s tree skirt. It’s red felt with outlines of our hand prints all around it. I think that’s from 1979 after my oldest brother was born. We were able to continue fitting our hands in until around 1996 or so when I was in junior high.
In case you’re interested, the pics were taken with the app, Retro Camera.

Lastly, sewing related things compiled most of my Christmas wishlist this year. Here are a few patterns I added to my stash.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

