Book 4: The Summer of 1787

The Summer of 1787 by David O. Stewart
The Summer of 1787: The Men Who Invented the Constitution by David O. Stewart

Review:
I’m not a huge reader of history or non-fiction in general. However, I was interested in learning more about American history when I started this.

I guess it’s pretty good. It goes into more detail than I really need, but I know others love that. It drags a bit for me because I can sum it up as, “they met, they argued, they wrote drafts, they argued, it was hot, they argued, it was finished THE END.”

If you want the abridged version, read the first two chapters to see who was involved, skip to the end and then read the copy of the Constitution in the Appendix. Sorted.

My favourite part remains the image of Pierce Butler’s notes which he has doodled all over. Cartoon faces and all!

Bottom Line: You can’t do that. …Because it’s freakin’ me out!

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in Reading List and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

