Book 2: Mr. Darcy, Vampyre

Mr Darcy, Vampyre - Amanda Grange

Mr Darcy, Vampyre by Amanda Grange

Review:
I love Pride & Prejudice & Zombies. I wanted this to be like that. It wasn’t.

If you want a vampire story, start on page 200. You won’t have missed a thing in the story. Trust me.

Grange’s writing style is juvenile. She goes into superfluous details and doesn’t get to the point of the book in a timely manner. The ending is a huge cop-out (because she didn’t want to write a sequel??). We’re introduced to a significant back-story with less than 50 pages to go, just so she can wrap it up in a nice bow and call it a day. I can’t stand that the reader is not justly rewarded!

In December I read Grange’s “Edmund Burtram’s Diary” whose style I excused because it’s in first person, like a diary should be, but now I’m realizing these books are just not that good.

I do have to give props to the cover designer for a very attractive cover. That’s the only positive comment I can muster. But it’s deceptive because the story has almost nothing to do with vampires.

Bottom Line: Oh, brother!

Personal note: I requested and received this book as a Christmas gift 2010.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in Reading List and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

