2014 Sewing Plan: The “I’m Really Busy With Life” Dress and Skirt

Hellooooo lovely people who follow me. It’s been an age, hasn’t it? Life gets in the way.

I have been sewing, just haven’t had the time/light/weather to do nice photoshoots. So…deal with it?

Dress:
20140301_134658 copy
2211ExtraLarge2014 Sewing Plan: Project 2
Fabric:
Teal cotton sateen from Mood $10, and left over navy cotton sateen $0
Pattern: Simplicity 2211
Year: 2011
Notions: Scraps of bias to hem the sleeves
Time to complete: Probably 9 hours
First worn: For a work event last week
Wear again? Hells yes!
Total price: ~$10
The pockets are navy like the sleeves. I’m in lurve with this dress.

Skirt:
20140309_184356 copy
2014 Sewing Plan: Project 3
Fabric:
Cotton Wills & Kate print from Goldhawk Rd £3 ($5), left over lining $0
Pattern: Self-drafted, inspired by a skirt from ModCloth
Notions: Invisible zip $1
Time to complete: Probably 8 hours
First worn: Not yet
Wear again? Yes indeed
Total price: ~$6
It took me an embarrassingly long time to realize what the “WC” stood for on this print. Also took an embarrassingly long time to figure out the math for the pleats. I was trying to work backward from having the amount of fabric and the size it had to become. I never did get it right so they’re not even. Oh well.
Here’s a closer pic of the print.
20140309_184420 copy

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to 2014 Sewing Plan: The “I’m Really Busy With Life” Dress and Skirt

  1. Melina says:

    That dress is everything. I’m going to see if I can get a hold of the pattern now (and then probably shamelessly copy you). Looks wonderful!

    • EBS says:

      Thank you so much! Imitation is the sincerest form of flattery, isn’t that what they say?
      I made some alterations to this pattern – skipping the front placket, sleeve ruffles, etc, and widening the neckline to make it a bit more “bateau”. If you already have a pattern for a shift dress (Colette’s Laurel for example) you could achieve similar. I just keep using this particular pattern because I happen to have it and I know I can do it up in a snap.

  2. Loran says:

    You’re one up on me, I haven’t had the time to even throw things on a hanger or mannequin to take pics. In some ways I miss the Sew Weekly days of “gotta get pics done!” to keep me going. I smiled when I saw the green dress, it’s just so “you”.

Leave a Reply

