2014 Sewing Plan: The “Candy Striper” Dress

P1080840 copy
2211ExtraLarge2014 Sewing Plan: Project 1
Fabric:
Coral striped jersey knit from Michael Levine’s Loft $2.50
Pattern: Simplicity 2211 (with plenty of modifications)
Year: 2011
Notions: Scraps of bias to reinforce shoulders
Time to complete: Probably 6 hours
First worn: For pictures
Wear again? Likely
Total price: ~$2.50

Hey, look at that! I made another thing! Also, welcome back the kind-of-crap indoor photos cuz it’s too freaking cold to step outside for even five minutes without a coat on. Our living room has more furniture now! That’s one of husband’s childhood koalas, Wally (short for Wollongong), on the rocker.
P1080850 copy
Originally this fabric was meant to be for a blazer, but I don’t think it’s stiff enough for it. I didn’t want to try and then fail miserably so I decided to play it safe with a shift dress. I did end up with a lot of fabric left over though.
P1080851 copy
Husband saw this fabric and kept jokingly asking me if I was going into candy striping. No, dear.
P1080845 copy
I don’t tend to accessories a lot so I feel that without the belt this dress immediately goes into “night dress” territory. So belted it is.

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to 2014 Sewing Plan: The “Candy Striper” Dress

  1. Way cute! I love the stripes paired with such a simple pattern – very chic. You look smashing!

  2. Loran says:

    Wait…it’s not green. Yes, I see the green belt but the dress is coral and very cute! You SHOCK me sometimes, just SHOCK me : )

    • Liz S. says:

      Haha! But did you notice our walls are green?!
      I picked this fabric simply because it felt so nice and was so inexpensive…and stripes! I have a hard time passing by stripes of any color ;)

Leave a Reply

