Random Sewing: The “Incredibly Wearable Muslin” Dress

P1080801 size
S2246Fabric: Blue Kona cotton broadcloth $5
Pattern: Simplicity 2246, Lisette’s Traveler dress
Year: 2011
Notions: 12 buttons from stash
Time to complete: Probably 9 hours
First worn: To work today
Wear again? Affirmative
Total price: ~$5
{Note} It’s winter, so welcome back crappy indoor photos! This is our Living Room – ignore the lack of curtains on the rods.

Yay I finally did it! Well, trialed it anyway. And it was a success! This fabric has been in my stash for quite a while. It was supposed to be re-covering some couch cushions. And then we changed our minds about doing it. I was worried it was going to look like a uniform but I think it works.
P1080794 copy
So I added length, but I may not have needed to. I also skipped the interfacing because this fabric is pretty stiff. I also skipped the one breast pocket. I will probably skip the hip pockets in the real version too, and just add pockets in the side seams. I think the 3/4 sleeves are perfect.
P1080801 copy
I took a risk with the bright red buttons and I think it’s perfect. It needed that pop to make it special. Anyway, pleasantly surprised with this.
P1080807 copy

About EBS

Museum curator, nerd, chronic watcher of TV show marathons, married to a soccer hooligan, vegetarian, obsessive sewer.
This entry was posted in DIY and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Random Sewing: The “Incredibly Wearable Muslin” Dress

  1. Joanne says:

    Cute! I especially like the red buttons! I need to get mine back out…and add in more ease at the hips…

  2. sewexhausted says:

    I think the red buttons added the perfect dress! Definitely a very wearable garment! ~Laurie

  3. Given all the craziness this week, I forgot to tell you how much I love this! The fabric/button color combo is super fantastic!

Leave a Reply

